## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The 80th Texas Legislature is the third session of the Moreno/Rangel Legislative Leadership Program, which is sponsored by the Mexican American Legislative Leadership Foundation and named in honor of State Representative Paul C.

5 Moreno and the late State Representative Irma Rangel; and

WHEREAS, This outstanding program provides opportunities for undergraduates and graduate students from Texas to serve as policy interns and fellows for members of the Texas House of Representatives, who in turn contribute their time and efforts to serve these young people as mentors and role models; and

WHEREAS, Internships and fellowships offered by the Moreno/Rangel Legislative Leadership Foundation are awarded on a competitive basis and offer the best and brightest young Texans opportunities to learn about the formulation of public policy and the legislative process firsthand from elected officials and state agency representatives; and

WHEREAS, The students selected to participate in the 2007 program are: Isla Flores-Bayer from Austin, serving in the office of State Representative Rafael Anchia; Natalie Diaz from El Paso, serving in the office of State Representative "Chente" Quintanilla; Laura Salcedo from Laredo, serving in the office of State Representative Ryan Guillen; Jose Rocha from El Paso, serving in the office of State Representative Rick Noriega; Alberto de la Torre from Laredo, serving in the office of State Representative

Michael Villarreal; Victor Marquez from Houston, serving in the office of State Representative Ana E. Hernandez; Araceli Garcia from Houston, serving in the office of State Representative Roberto Alonzo; Julie Nieto from Victoria, serving in the office of State Representative Robert Puente; Arleen Sanchez from El Paso, serving in the office of State Representative Dawnna Dukes; Stephanie Ozuna from McAllen, serving in the office of State Representative Veronica Gonzales; Alex Hernandez from Edinburg, serving in the office of State Representative Aaron Pena; and Rogelio Chanes from Brownsville, serving in the office of State Representative Ruth Jones McClendon; and 

WHEREAS, This unique leadership program, which promotes community service and communications training, selects students from universities across the State of Texas, thereby encouraging diversity in government affairs while enabling those selected to experience the satisfactions and rewards of public service; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby honor the Moreno/Rangel Legislative Leadership Program Class of 2007 and recognize this important and progressive initiative for its efforts to develop in young people the skills needed by tomorrow's leaders.

Gallego

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Goolsby Aycock Murphy Bailey Guillen Naishtat Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Bohac Hamilton Bolton Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bonnen Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Heflin Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Phillips Chisum Hill Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Pierson Hodge Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cook of Colorado Corte Raymond Riddle Crabb Hughes Creighton Isett Ritter Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Darby Jones Rose Keffer Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor Delisi Smithee King of Zavala Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Leibowitz Thompson Lucio III Elkins Truitt Macias Turner England Escobar Madden Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Veasey Farias Martinez Martinez Fischer Farrar Villarreal Flores McCall Vo McClendon West Flynn McReynolds Woolley Frost

Zedler

Zerwas

Menendez

Merritt

Gallego

Garcia

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2059 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House