H.R. No. 2096

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Anna Lee Mireles has been named valedictorian of the Class of 2007 at La Villa High School in Hidalgo County, and for achieving this significant honor, she indeed merits special

4 recognition; and

WHEREAS, Earning the title of valedictorian requires not only intellect and aptitude, but four years of dedication to the highest academic standards; the student who garners this coveted distinction must demonstrate a thorough understanding of a wide range of subjects, from math and science to language arts and social studies, yet the rewards of the countless hours of study and preparation are myriad; and

WHEREAS, In addition to the pride inherent in being recognized as the highest achieving student in her class, the valedictorian is frequently the recipient of scholarships and grants; she also gains the opportunity to address her fellow seniors at commencement and to reflect on their shared history as well as their hopes and ambitions for the future; and

WHEREAS, The daughter of Maria C. Mireles and the late Raul Mireles, Sr., Ms. Mireles was awarded the Excellence and Gateway Scholarships from The University of Texas-Pan American; and

WHEREAS, Anna Lee Mireles has earned the respect and admiration of her teachers and classmates at La Villa High School, and her exceptional scholastic ability, hard work, and commitment to excellence have surely opened the way to limitless opportunities

H.R. No. 2096

- 1 for this remarkable young Texan; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Anna Lee Mireles on being named the
- 4 2007 valedictorian at La Villa High School and extend to her sincere
- 5 best wishes for continued success in all her endeavors; and, be it
- 6 further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Ms. Mireles as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.

Pena

H.R. No. 2096

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2096 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House