By: McClendon H.R. No. 2108

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, One of the oldest African American churches in Texas, St. Paul United Methodist in San Antonio marked another milestone in its illustrious history on November 19, 2006, with the celebration of its 140th anniversary; and

5 WHEREAS, St. Paul became the first black church to be 6 established in San Antonio when a local minister, the Reverend A. 7 Larkin Carper, organized former members of Travis Park Methodist 8 Episcopal Church into a new congregation in 1866; soon afterward, 9 parishioners of St. Paul voted to affiliate with the northern 10 branch of the Methodist Church, and they began holding services in

an area known as Newcomville, on the near West Side; and

WHEREAS, The congregation met at several different sites before erecting a substantial building at its present location on the East Side in 1921-1922; since that time, members have enlarged their campus through the purchase of adjacent property, and the church complex has undergone expansion and renovation; and

WHEREAS, Congregants of St. Paul have long sought to address the basic needs of their community: following the Civil War, St. Paul hosted the Lincoln School, the first African American school to open its doors in San Antonio; in the 1940s, the church established St. Paul House, which served the East Side as both a secular and religious meeting place and, in the days of segregation, also provided lodging for travelers; today, St. Paul is engaged in a number of outreach efforts, including such

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

- H.R. No. 2108
- 1 collaborative undertakings as the Wesley Nursing Program, which the
- 2 church helped to pioneer, and the Feed My Lambs food and clothing
- 3 bank, managed by the St. Paul United Methodist Women; and
- WHEREAS, Through the years, St. Paul has been led by a number
- of able pastors; in addition to Reverend Carper, ministers have
- 6 included the Reverends Mack Henson, C. L. Madison, J. W. Weakley, L.
- 7 H. Richardson, J. W. Warren, G. A. Deslandes, Robert S. Mosby, K. W.
- 8 McMillan, Earnest Smith, Jacob H. Carruthers, T. M. Bruton, Lavalle
- 9 H. Lowe, Prenza L. Woods, Hector Grant, Robert Felder, and Terrence
- 10 Hays; the congregation is now guided by the Reverend Dr. Marcus A.
- 11 L. Freeman III; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Individual members have contributed their talents
- 13 to the community in many roles, both as professionals and as
- 14 tradesmen and craftsmen; in addition, the mothers of the
- 15 congregation, especially, have instilled strong values in their
- 16 children, raising them to be responsible citizens and productive
- 17 members of society; and
- WHEREAS, St. Paul's rich heritage was recognized in 2002,
- 19 when the church received a United Methodist Historical Marker; and
- WHEREAS, Sustained by a common purpose, warm fellowship, and
- 21 inspired leadership, the members of St. Paul United Methodist
- 22 Church have remained constant in their devotion and witness to
- 23 their faith, and it is a pleasure to commemorate this joyous
- occasion in the life of their church; now, therefore, be it
- 25 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 26 Legislature hereby congratulate the Reverend Dr. Marcus A. L.
- 27 Freeman III and the congregants of St. Paul United Methodist Church

H.R. No. 2108

- on the 140th anniversary of the church's founding and extend to them
- 2 sincere best wishes as they embark on a new decade of worship and
- 3 service; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Reverend Freeman and the church's congregation as an
- 6 expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.