H.R. No. 2123

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Williamson County adult probation director Rick
Zinsmeyer is retiring in 2007 after serving his community with
distinction for nearly 30 years; and

WHEREAS, When Mr. Zinsmeyer started in adult probation in 1977, the small department supervised 700 criminal offenders who would slip their reports under the door, annual fees collected totaled no more than \$12,000, and all of the department's paperwork could fit into two drawers of a filing cabinet; and

9 WHEREAS, Then only in his early 20s, Mr. Zinsmeyer took over 10 the department in 1978, determined to leave it in better shape than 11 he had found it; under his skilled and steady leadership, the 12 Williamson County adult probation program has expanded to match the 13 rapid growth of Williamson County, and it has become one of the 14 finest probation departments in the state; and

WHEREAS, Now employing 105 people, the department supervises 5,000 probationers and collects almost \$5 million a year in fees; moreover, Mr. Zinsmeyer has instituted a number of programs to help ensure the safety of the community as well as the successful reentry of probationers into society; and

20 WHEREAS, Through his dedication, drive, and vision, Rick 21 Zinsmeyer has served Williamson County well for nearly 30 years, 22 earning the lasting respect of other law enforcement professionals 23 and the gratitude of his fellow citizens; now, therefore, be it 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

1

H.R. No. 2123

Legislature herby congratulate Rick Zinsmeyer on his retirement as
the Williamson County director of adult probation and extend to him
best wishes for continued happiness as he embarks on his
well-deserved retirement; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Mr. Zinsmeyer as an expression of high regard by the 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Gattis

H.R. No. 2123

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2123 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House