H.R. No. 2134

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Pastor Roy Edwin West has been named the district 2 overseer of the Tarrant County area of the Full Gospel Baptist 3 Church Fellowship; and

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

WHEREAS, Called to the ministry at the age of 12, Pastor West studied at Bishop College, Arlington Baptist College, and Texas Wesleyan University, where he was the first African American student; for the past 26 years he has proudly served as pastor of Greater Strangers Rest Full Gospel Baptist Church in Fort Worth, and his excellent teachings and outstanding guidance have been a blessing to his grateful congregants; and

WHEREAS, This notable Texan has made invaluable contributions to his community of faith through his work with several organizations; the Lake Como Ministerial Alliance and National Baptist Convention of America, Inc., have benefited from his membership, as has the Elm Grove District of Baptist Churches, which he served as moderator; in addition, he has officiated as the North Texas State director of pastors for the Full Gospel Baptist Church Fellowship, International, and was honored by the movement in 2005 as Pastor of the Year; and

20 WHEREAS, Pastor West has set an inspirational example of 21 religious leadership, and he brings exceptional experience and 22 commitment to the myriad responsibilities of his challenging new 23 role; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

H.R. No. 2134

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Pastor Roy Edwin West on being
- 2 named district overseer of the Tarrant County area of the Full
- 3 Gospel Baptist Church Fellowship and extend to him best wishes for
- 4 the future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Pastor West as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Veasey

H.R. No. 2134

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2134 was adopted by the House on May 17, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House