H.R. No. 2142

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, U.S. Air Force Staff Sergeant John R. Hoover has 2 been awarded the Bronze Star Medal for his meritorious service as 3 team leader of Explosive Ordnance Disposal (EOD) Flight, 447th 4 Expeditionary Civil Engineer Squadron, 447th Air Expeditionary 5 Group, at Sather Air Base, Iraq, from May 27, 2006, to October 3, 6 2006; and

WHEREAS, In support of the 2d Brigade Combat Team, 101st 7 Airborne Division (Air Assault), the 447th Expeditionary Group, and 8 the Iraqi Ministry of Transportation, Staff Sergeant Hoover 9 responded to EOD's busiest area of operations in Iraq covering 500 10 square miles in the vicinity of Baghdad, Baghdad International 11 12 Airport, and Forward Operating Bases Falcon and Mahmudiyah; his 13 crucial leadership led to the safe resolution of 67 EOD emergency 14 responses, including 49 improvised explosive devices, four unexploded ordnances, four post-blast analyses, and eight weapons 15 cache missions; moreover, he was instrumental in the destruction of 16 more than 1,000 ordnance items, 5,000 rounds of small arms 17 ammunition, numerous IED components, and 400 pounds of homemade 18 explosives; and 19

20 WHEREAS, Staff Sergeant Hoover further distinguished himself 21 through his participation in Operation Yugo, during which he 22 supported Task Force Falcon in disrupting an AQIZ cell, and through 23 his technical expertise in the recovery of a downed Apache 24 helicopter, which required the removal of ammunition and missiles;

1

H.R. No. 2142
1 in addition, during one 18-hour period, he was charged with nine
2 emergency responses, including the safe return of a convoy after
3 one of its vehicles was disabled by an IED; and

WHEREAS, Americans owe a profound debt of gratitude to Staff Sergeant Hoover and to all of the country's military personnel, for they are called on to bear great, often unimaginable, burdens, and they render service and sacrifice that is truly beyond measure; and

8 WHEREAS, Through his unfaltering devotion to duty, honor, and 9 this nation, John Hoover embodies the highest ideals of the United 10 States armed forces, and it is indeed fitting to honor his 11 outstanding service in behalf of this nation; now, therefore, be it

12 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 13 Legislature hereby commend Staff Sergeant John R. Hoover for his 14 heroic actions in Iraq and congratulate him on his receipt of the 15 Bronze Star Medal; and, be it further

16 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 17 prepared for Staff Sergeant Hoover as an expression of high regard 18 by the Texas House of Representatives.

King of Taylor

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

## H.R. No. 2142

Miles

H.R. No. 2142

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2142 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House