H.R. No. 2150

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Midland Chamber of Commerce Education Committee 2 hosted the 2007 Excellence in Teaching Awards Gala on April 10, 3 2007; and

WHEREAS, Themed "A Night at the Oscars," this special event recognized star educators from Midland County public, private, and charter schools, Midland College, and The University of Texas of the Permian Basin who have demonstrated a commitment to providing their students with a first-rate education; and

WHEREAS, The top winners of the Excellence in Teaching Award were four educators from Midland ISD; receiving the Gold Award were Natalie Eustace of Parker Elementary School and Mary Helen Livingston of Abell Junior High School, and the two Silver Award recipients were Cassandra Lyons of DeZavala Elementary School and Darrell Benton of San Jacinto Junior High School; and

WHEREAS, Other outstanding teachers from the pre-K level through high school were also recognized as honorees; they were Barbara Atencio from Washington Math and Science Institute, Charles Bell from Midland High, Heather Bennett from Travis Elementary, Tiffany Butts from Greathouse Elementary, Holley Chandler from Bunche Early Childhood, Jennifer Curfew from Alamo Junior High, Lanise Davidson from Rusk Elementary, Angela Dehlinger from Jones Elementary, Lyndi Dieringer from Scharbauer Elementary, Deanna Dunn from Lee Freshman High, Betty Evatt from Lamar Elementary, Terri Freeman from West Early Childhood, Kelly Garcia from Bowie

## H.R. No. 2150

1 Elementary, Anne Gilley from Bush Elementary, Leslie Goodrum from 2 Santa Rita Elementary, Whitney Hendriex from Crockett Elementary, Scott Glenn Hicks from Lee High, Jenny Klatt from Emerson 3 4 Elementary, Kayla Kuykendall from Fannin Elementary, Tassy Miller 5 from Burnet Elementary, Carolyn Nelson from Milam Elementary, Jennifer D. Payne from South Elementary, Kelly Raborn from 6 Henderson Elementary, Leticia Reyes from Houston Elementary, 7 Michelle Reyes from Midland Freshman, Jennifer Sublett from Pease 8 9 Communication and Technology Magnet, Christi Walls from Long Elementary, and Jana Walton from Bonham Elementary; and 10 WHEREAS, The Excellence in Teaching Awards 11 program recognizes the efforts of those Midland County educators who 12 exemplify the ideals of their profession and give their students a 13 14 strong academic foundation on which to build; now, therefore, be it 15 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 16 Legislature hereby congratulate the 2007 Excellence in Teaching 17 Award winners and honorees and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success with their important work; and, be it further 18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 19 prepared for the recipients as an expression of high regard by the 20

21

Texas House of Representatives.

Craddick

H.R. No. 2150

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2150 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House