By: Craddick

H.R. No. 2151

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Midland Chamber of Commerce Education Committee 2 presented deserving recipients with the 2007 Abell-Hanger 3 Foundation Unsung Hero Awards on April 10, 2007; and

WHEREAS, Themed "A Night at the Oscars," this special event recognized outstanding school employees from Midland County who have demonstrated initiative and dedication in such roles as librarian, counselor, nurse, cafeteria worker, bus driver, teacher's assistant, custodian, and other support staff positions; and

10 WHEREAS, The top winners were two Midland ISD employees; 11 Linda Gilmore, a school nurse at Houston Elementary School, won the 12 Gold Award, and Janet Witcher, a school counselor at Bonham 13 Elementary School, won the Silver Award; and

14 WHEREAS, Other outstanding staff who were recognized as honorees were Tammy Baggett from Child Nutrition Services, Ben 15 Bonilla from Greathouse Elementary, Sally Campos from Bunche Early 16 Childhood, Jessica Capetillo from West Early Childhood, Mary 17 18 Castaneda from Anson Jones Elementary, Marie Chapman from Abell Junior High, Patricia Fay DeLoera from Emerson Elementary, Emma 19 Galindo from Milam Elementary, Sylvia Garza from San Jacinto Junior 20 21 High, Sandra Hull from Midland Christian, Billy Jackson from Alamo Junior High, Dina D. Joiner from Lee Freshman High, Irma Molinar 22 23 from Scharbauer Elementary, Cathy Nash from Midland High, Betty Elizabeth Potter from Midland Freshman High, Barbara Randolph from 24

1

H.R. No. 2151

Pease Communication and Technology Magnet, Tony Reyes from Bowie Elementary, Sammy Romero from Fannin Elementary, Rosana Salazar from DeZavala Elementary, Lori Sanchez from Washington Math and Science Institute, Carla Stringer from Travis Elementary, and Arvella Wade from Santa Rita Elementary; and

6 WHEREAS, The Abell-Hanger Foundation Unsung Hero Award 7 commends the efforts of Midland County school employees to provide 8 a caring and supportive environment in which students may excel and 9 develop a lifelong love of learning; now, therefore, be it

10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 11 Legislature hereby congratulate the 2007 Abell-Hanger Foundation 12 Unsung Hero Award winners and honorees and extend to them sincere 13 best wishes for continued success with their important work; and, 14 be it further

15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 16 prepared for the recipients as an expression of high regard by the 17 Texas House of Representatives.

2