H.R. No. 2217

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Monica Segundo-Grosser has been named a Lake Houston 2 Science Collaborative honoree and is being recognized at the 3 teacher's banquet on May 16, 2007; and

WHEREAS, The Lake Houston organization is one of the Texas Regional Collaboratives for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching, which provides professional development to K-12 educators throughout the state; drawing together institutions of higher education, the Texas Education Agency, education service centers, school districts, and business organizations, these partnerships have established an excellent record in designing and implementing exemplary educational development programs; and

WHEREAS, A sixth-grade teacher at Humble Middle School, Monica Segundo-Grosser has played an important role in furthering the mission of the Lake Houston Regional Collaborative by promoting the study of science and increasing student achievement; and

WHEREAS, A graduate of Sam Houston State University, this dedicated teacher devoted 116 service and training hours to the Lake Houston Science Collaborative and helped to foster an enthusiastic and positive learning environment for students of the area northeast of Houston; and

WHEREAS, Children are our state's most precious resource, and by devoting time and energy to educating these young Texans, Monica Segundo-Grosser has made a significant contribution to the future of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2217

- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

  Legislature hereby congratulate Monica Segundo-Grosser on being

  named a Lake Houston Science Collaborative honoree and extend to

  this exemplary educator best wishes for continued success; and, be

  it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Monica Segundo-Grosser as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Dutton

H.R. No. 2217

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2217 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House