H.R. No. 2221

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Tara Brandt has been named a Lake Houston Science
Collaborative honoree and is being recognized at the teacher's
banquet on May 16, 2007; and

WHEREAS, The Lake Houston organization is one of the Texas 4 5 Regional Collaboratives for Excellence in Science and Mathematics 6 Teaching, which provides professional development to K-12 educators throughout the state; drawing together institutions of 7 higher education, the Texas Education Agency, education service 8 centers, school districts, and business organizations, these 9 partnerships have established an excellent record in designing and 10 11 implementing exemplary educational development programs; and

WHEREAS, A fifth-grade teacher at Kimmie Brown Elementary School in Dayton, Tara Brandt has played an important role in furthering the mission of the Lake Houston Regional Collaborative by promoting the study of science and increasing student achievement; and

WHEREAS, A graduate of Oklahoma State University, this dedicated teacher devoted 152 service and training hours to the Lake Houston Science Collaborative and helped to foster an enthusiastic and positive learning environment for students of the area northeast of Houston; and

22 WHEREAS, Children are our state's most precious resource, and 23 by devoting time and energy to educating these young Texans, Tara 24 Brandt has made a significant contribution to the future of the Lone

1

H.R. No. 2221

1 Star State; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Tara Brandt on being named a Lake 4 Houston Science Collaborative honoree and extend to this exemplary 5 educator best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Tara Brandt as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Dutton

H.R. No. 2221

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2221 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House