## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Honorable Antonio Perez Villarreal, mayor of Fort Stockton, has distinguished himself as a dedicated and accomplished community leader throughout his noteworthy tenure in public service; and

WHEREAS, Raised in Rocksprings, Tony Villarreal began his career as a civic leader at the age of 19, when he was elected to his hometown's city council; by 21, he had won a seat on the Edwards County Commissioners Court, making him the youngest county commissioner in Texas and the first Hispanic to hold an elected office in Edwards County; and

WHEREAS, In 1989, Mr. Villarreal and his family moved to Fort Stockton, where he served his fellow Texans as a member of the Fort Stockton ISD Board of Trustees and the Pecos County Commissioners Court; he was appointed by Governor Ann Richards to the Permian Basin Regional Review Committee and the Texas Department of Adult Protective Services Advisory Board, and he continued to better his community and state through his important work with such worthy organizations as the Fort Stockton Main Street Advisory Board and the Hospice of the Southwest Board of Directors; and

WHEREAS, The first Hispanic elected to the West Texas County Judges and Commissioners board, Mr. Villarreal achieved a milestone in 2003 when he was elected the first Hispanic mayor of Fort Stockton; he has since fulfilled his many responsibilities with his characteristic integrity and dedication to duty, and in his

- H.R. No. 2241
- 1 capacity as mayor, he has worked with numerous area committees and
- 2 boards, including the Fort Stockton Convention and Visitors Bureau,
- 3 the Texas Municipal League, and the Permian Basin Airport Advisory
- 4 Board; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Through the years, Mayor Villarreal has contributed
- 6 to his church as a member of the parish finance council and ushers
- 7 committee and as a CCE instructor; moreover, his community efforts
- 8 have benefited the Fort Stockton Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, the
- 9 Knights of Columbus, the Boy Scouts of America, the Kiwanis Club,
- 10 and many other organizations; and
- 11 WHEREAS, For 29 years, Mayor Villarreal has enjoyed the love
- 12 and support of his wife, Lisa Trevino Villarreal, who was elected
- 13 Pecos County district clerk in 2002, and together the couple take
- 14 great pride in their children, Annalisa, T. J., and Jon-Erik, and
- 15 their grandchildren, Victoria, Justin, David, Aralynn, and Lauren;
- 16 and
- 17 WHEREAS, Throughout Tony Villarreal's nearly three decades
- 18 of public service, he has set a high standard of achievement to
- 19 which others may aspire, and he is indeed an inspiration to all who
- 20 know him; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby commend Antonio Perez Villarreal for his
- 23 outstanding career and extend to him best wishes for the future;
- 24 and, be it further

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for Mayor Villarreal as an expression of high regard by the
- 3 Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Goolsby Aycock Murphy Guillen Bailey Naishtat Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Bohac Hamilton Bolton Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bonnen Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Heflin Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Phillips Chisum Hill Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Pierson Hodge Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cook of Colorado Corte Raymond Riddle Crabb Hughes Creighton Isett Ritter Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Darby Jones Rose Keffer Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor Delisi Smithee King of Zavala Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Leibowitz Thompson Lucio III Elkins Truitt England Macias Turner Escobar Madden Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Veasey Farias Martinez Martinez Fischer Farrar Villarreal Flores McCall Vo McClendon West Flynn McReynolds Woolley Frost

Zedler

Zerwas

Menendez

Merritt

Gallego

Garcia

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2241 was adopted by the House on May 18, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House