H.R. No. 2274

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Words cannot adequately express the heartache felt 2 at the loss of U.S. Army Staff Sergeant Michael A. Shank of Bonham, 3 who died while bravely serving his country on November 28, 2006, at 4 the age of 31; and

5 WHEREAS, Assigned to the 230th Military Police Company, 95th 6 Military Police Battalion, 18th Military Police Brigade, Staff 7 Sergeant Shank was one of two soldiers killed when a roadside bomb 8 exploded near their vehicle during combat operations in Logar, 9 Afghanistan; and

10 WHEREAS, Americans owe a profound debt to our nation's 11 servicemen and servicewomen, whose courageous efforts and enormous 12 sacrifices are deserving of their fellow citizens' deepest respect 13 and gratitude; and

WHEREAS, Exemplifying the highest ideals of the U.S. armed forces, Michael A. Shank inspired others with his fortitude, tenacity, and courage; although his death leaves a void in the lives of his loved ones, they will forever carry memories of this heroic Texan close in their hearts; now, therefore, be it

19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 20 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Staff Sergeant 21 Michael A. Shank and extend deepest sympathy to all those who mourn 22 his passing; and, be it further

23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 24 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of

1

H.R. No. 2274 1 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of U.S. Army 2 Staff Sergeant Michael A. Shank.

Phillips

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 2274

Miles

H.R. No. 2274

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2274 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 22, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House