## RESOLUTION

deepest gratitude; and

WHEREAS, The Travis County Council of the Veterans of Foreign Wars is sponsoring a Memorial Day observance on May 28, 2007, in tribute to the more than one million Americans who have given their lives for freedom during times of war and in honor of all who have served their country in the armed forces of the United States of America; and

WHEREAS, Our state and nation are fortunate to have sons and daughters whose love of country leads them to military service, yet we are keenly aware of the price so many have paid and the

sacrifices that members of the military continue to render; and

WHEREAS, At this time of grave concern, we recognize those
who are engaged in dangerous missions abroad and keep them in our
hearts as we hope for their safe return; their devotion to duty,
honor, and their country is deserving of their fellow citizens'

WHEREAS, With roots stretching back more than a century, the VFW has worked steadfastly to assist veterans and to provide moral and financial support to those who are presently serving on active duty; the staunch commitment of this organization to the welfare of America's veterans is also deserving of grateful recognition; and

WHEREAS, The freedoms that our nation enjoys have been dearly bought, and time can never diminish the debt this country owes to those whose lives were cut grievously short in its service; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
Legislature hereby commend the Travis County Council of the
Veterans of Foreign Wars for calling on all Texans to honor the
tremendous sacrifice that lies at the heart of Memorial Day and
extend to all members of the nation's armed forces profound
appreciation for their courageous efforts in our country's behalf.

Naishtat Strama Dukes Howard of Travis Bolton Rodriguez

Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego	Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez	Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler
Gallego	Menendez	Zedler
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2278 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 22, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House