H.R. No. 2285

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The boys swim team of J. J. Pearce High School in 2 Richardson captured the state title with its victory at the 2007 UIL 3 Class 4A State Championships, the fourth time the team from Pearce 4 has won at the state meet; and

5 WHEREAS, Under the guidance of Coach Jeff Clayton, the 6 Mustangs finished first among a field of 45 teams at the state meet 7 and set two 4A state records; Nick Kalivas won the 100 butterfly and 8 joined John Kalivas, Stephen Yang, and Andrew Lin to win the 200 9 freestyle relay, establishing new state marks for excellence; team 10 members Chuck Zhou and Chad Robinson also made valuable 11 contributions to the team's success; and

WHEREAS, The Mustangs finished the season with an 8-2 dual meet record and placed third among 80 teams at the North Zone Tisca meet; the team also took first place at the Lewisville Invitational and captured its eighth consecutive regional title; and

16 WHEREAS, Winning a state championship requires countless 17 hours of hard work and preparation, and the memory of this 18 significant achievement will remain with these talented 19 student-athletes for years to come; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 21 Legislature hereby congratulate the boys swim team of J. J. Pearce 22 High School in Richardson on winning the Class 4A State 23 Championship and extend best wishes to Coach Jeff Clayton and the 24 members of the team; and, be it further

1

H.R. No. 2285
1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
2 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
3 House of Representatives.

Hill

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 2285

Miles

H.R. No. 2285

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2285 was adopted by the House on May 18, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House