RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Cycling enthusiasts from throughout Texas, the
- 2 United States, Mexico, and Canada will mount up on September 29,
- 3 2007, to take part in the fourth annual Conquer the Coast bike ride,
- 4 the premier cycling event of Corpus Christi and the Coastal Bend;
- 5 and
- 6 WHEREAS, Sponsored by the Corpus Christi Chamber of Commerce,
- 7 Conquer the Coast benefits the Tarpon Foundation, the primary
- 8 fund-raising arm of the Intercollegiate Athletic Department at
- 9 Texas A&M University--Corpus Christi; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Some 2,000 cyclists are expected to participate in
- 11 this year's event, which features a 25-mile fun ride and a 65-mile
- 12 scenic ride over the Harbor Bridge and around Corpus Christi Bay;
- 13 and
- 14 WHEREAS, Hard-core riders may choose to test their mettle in
- 15 the event's most challenging option: the Toughest 18 Miles in Texas
- 16 time trial, which pits riders against the clock in the ultimate test
- of speed and endurance; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Conquer the Coast continues to grow in both size and
- 19 stature in the cycling community, and this noteworthy event
- 20 presents yet another opportunity to celebrate the remarkable beauty
- 21 of this great state; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby recognize Conquer the Coast as the premier bike
- 24 riding event of Corpus Christi and the Coastal Bend and extend best

- 1 wishes to the Corpus Christi Chamber of Commerce and race
- 2 organizers and participants for another successful and memorable
- 3 event; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the Corpus Christi Chamber of Commerce as an
- 6 expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Ortiz, Jr.

Craddick	Gattis	Miles
Allen	Geren	Miller
Alonzo	Giddings	Moreno
Anchia	Gonzales	Morrison
Anderson	Gonzalez Toureilles	Mowery
Aycock	Goolsby	Murphy
Bailey	Guillen	Naishtat
Berman	Haggerty	Noriega
	Hamilton	9
Bohac		O'Day
Bolton	Hancock	Oliveira
Bonnen	Hardcastle	Olivo
Branch	Harless	Orr
Brown of Kaufman	Harper-Brown	Ortiz, Jr.
Brown of Brazos	Hartnett	Otto
Burnam	Heflin _	Parker
Callegari	Hernandez	Patrick
Castro	Herrero	Paxton
Chavez	Hilderbran	Pena
Chisum	Hill	Phillips
Christian	Hochberg	Pickett
Cohen	Hodge	Pierson
Coleman	Homer	Pitts
Cook of Navarro	Hopson	Puente
Cook of Colorado	Howard of Fort Bend	Quintanilla
Corte	Howard of Travis	Raymond
Crabb	Hughes	Riddle
Creighton	Isett	Ritter
Crownover	Jackson	Rodriguez
Darby	Jones	Rose
Davis of Harris	Keffer	Smith of Tarrant
Davis of Dallas	King of Parker	Smith of Harris
Delisi	King of Taylor	Smithee
Deshotel	King of Zavala	Solomons
Driver	Kolkhorst	Strama
Dukes	Krusee	Straus
Dunnam	Kuempel	Swinford
Dutton	Latham	Talton
Eiland	Laubenberg	Taylor
Eissler	Leibowitz	Thompson
Elkins	Lucio III	Truitt
England	Macias	Turner
Escobar	Madden	Van Arsdale
Farabee	Mallory Caraway	Vaught
Farias	Martinez	Veasey
Farrar	Martinez Fischer	Villarreal
Flores	McCall	Vo
Flynn	McClendon	West
Frost	McReynolds	Woolley
Gallego	Menendez	Zedler
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2304 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 18, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House