RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Words cannot adequately express the heartache felt
- 2 at the loss of U.S. Marine Corporal John M. Longoria of Nixon, who
- 3 died while bravely serving his country on November 14, 2005, at the
- 4 age of 21; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Assigned to Company F, 2nd Battalion, 1st Marine
- 6 Regiment, 13th Marine Expeditionary Unit, 1st Marine Expeditionary
- 7 Force, Corporal Longoria was mortally wounded as a result of
- 8 small-arms fire during combat operations against enemy forces in
- 9 New Ubaydi, Iraq; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Americans owe a profound debt to our nation's
- 11 servicemen and servicewomen, whose courageous efforts and enormous
- 12 sacrifices are deserving of their fellow citizens' deepest respect
- 13 and gratitude; and
- WHEREAS, Exemplifying the highest ideals of the U.S. armed
- 15 forces, John M. Longoria inspired others with his fortitude,
- 16 tenacity, and courage; although his death leaves a void in the lives
- of his loved ones, they will forever carry memories of this heroic
- 18 Texan close in their hearts; now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Corporal John M.
- 21 Longoria and extend deepest sympathy to all those who mourn his
- 22 passing; and, be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of

- 1 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of U.S. Marine
- 2 Corporal John M. Longoria.

Kuempel

Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego	Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez	Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler
Gallego	Menendez	Zedler
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2319 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 18, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House