RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Words cannot adequately express the heartache felt
- 2 at the loss of U.S. Army Second Lieutenant Emily J. T. Perez of
- 3 Texas, who died while bravely serving her country on September 12,
- 4 2006, at the age of 23; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Assigned to the 204th Support Battalion, 2nd
- 6 Brigade, 4th Infantry Division, Second Lieutenant Perez was
- 7 mortally wounded when a roadside bomb exploded near her Humvee
- 8 during combat operations in Kifl, Iraq; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Americans owe a profound debt to our nation's
- 10 servicemen and servicewomen, whose courageous efforts and enormous
- 11 sacrifices are deserving of their fellow citizens' deepest respect
- 12 and gratitude; and
- WHEREAS, Exemplifying the highest ideals of the U.S. armed
- 14 forces, Emily J. T. Perez inspired others with her fortitude,
- tenacity, and courage; although her death leaves a void in the lives
- of her loved ones, they will forever carry memories of this heroic
- 17 Texan close in their hearts; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Second
- 20 Lieutenant Emily J. T. Perez and extend deepest sympathy to all
- 21 those who mourn her passing; and, be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 23 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of
- 24 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of U.S.
- 25 Army Second Lieutenant Emily J. T. Perez.

Parker

H.R. No. 2323

Gattis Craddick Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Gonzalez Toureilles Anderson Mowery Aycock Goolsby Murphy Guillen Naishtat Bailey Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Bohac Hamilton Bolton Oliveira Hancock Bonnen Hardcastle Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Heflin Burnam Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Hill Chisum Phillips Hochberg Christian Pickett Cohen Hodge Pierson Coleman Homer Pitts Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Cook of Colorado Howard of Fort Bend Quintanilla Corte Howard of Travis Raymond Crabb Hughes Riddle Creighton Ritter Isett Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Jones Darby Rose Davis of Harris Keffer Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor King of Zavala Delisi Smithee Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Dunnam Kuempel Swinford Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Thompson Leibowitz Elkins Lucio III Truitt Turner Macias England Madden Escobar Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Farias Martinez Veasey Martinez Fischer Villarreal Farrar McCall Flores Vo West Flynn McClendon Frost McReynolds Woolley Gallego Menendez Zedler Garcia Merritt Zerwas

H.R. No. 2323

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2323 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 18, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House