## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Words cannot adequately express the heartache felt
- 2 at the loss of U.S. Army Sergeant Jeffery S. Wiekamp of Utopia, who
- 3 died while bravely serving his country on May 5, 2006, at the age of
- 4 23; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Assigned to the 3rd Battalion, 10th Aviation
- 6 Regiment, 10th Mountain Division, Sergeant Wiekamp was one of 10
- 7 soldiers killed when their CH-47 Chinook helicopter crashed during
- 8 combat operations east of Abad, Afghanistan; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Americans owe a profound debt to our nation's
- 10 servicemen and servicewomen, whose courageous efforts and enormous
- 11 sacrifices are deserving of their fellow citizens' deepest respect
- 12 and gratitude; and
- WHEREAS, Exemplifying the highest ideals of the U.S. armed
- 14 forces, Jeffery S. Wiekamp inspired others with his fortitude,
- tenacity, and courage; although his death leaves a void in the lives
- of his loved ones, they will forever carry memories of this heroic
- 17 Texan close in their hearts; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Sergeant Jeffery S.
- 20 Wiekamp and extend deepest sympathy to all those who mourn his
- 21 passing; and, be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 23 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 24 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of U.S.

1 Army Sergeant Jeffery S. Wiekamp.

Gallego

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Goolsby Aycock Murphy Bailey Guillen Naishtat Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Bohac Hamilton Bolton Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bonnen Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Heflin Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Phillips Chisum Hill Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Pierson Hodge Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cook of Colorado Corte Raymond Riddle Crabb Hughes Creighton Ritter Isett Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Darby Jones Rose Keffer Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor Delisi Smithee King of Zavala Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Kuempel Swinford Dunnam Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Leibowitz Thompson Lucio III Elkins Truitt Macias Turner England Escobar Madden Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Veasey Farias Martinez Martinez Fischer Farrar Villarreal Flores McCall Vo McClendon West Flynn McReynolds Woolley Frost Gallego Menendez Zedler

Zerwas

Merritt

Garcia

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2326 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 18, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House