H.R. No. 2344

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Words cannot adequately express the heartache felt 2 at the loss of U.S. Army Specialist Hatim S. Kathiria of Fort 3 Worth, who died while bravely serving his country on August 22, 4 2005, at the age of 23; and

5 WHEREAS, Assigned to Company D, 703rd Forward Support 6 Battalion, 4th Brigade Combat Team, 3rd Infantry Division, 7 Specialist Kathiria was killed when an enemy rocket impacted near 8 his position in Baghdad, Iraq; and

9 WHEREAS, Americans owe a profound debt to our nation's 10 servicemen and servicewomen, whose courageous efforts and enormous 11 sacrifices are deserving of their fellow citizens' deepest respect 12 and gratitude; and

WHEREAS, Exemplifying the highest ideals of the U.S. armed forces, Hatim S. Kathiria inspired others with his fortitude, tenacity, and courage; although his death leaves a void in the lives of his loved ones, they will forever carry memories of this heroic Texan close in their hearts; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 19 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Specialist Hatim S. 20 Kathiria and extend deepest sympathy to all those who mourn his 21 passing; and, be it further

22 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 23 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 24 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of U.S.

1

H.R. No. 2344

1 Army Specialist Hatim S. Kathiria.

Mowery

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 2344

Miles

H.R. No. 2344

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2344 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 18, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House