RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Words cannot adequately express the heartache felt

2 at the loss of U.S. Army Staff Sergeant Michael C. Lloyd of San

Antonio, who died while bravely serving his country on August 12,

4 2006, at the age of 24; and

3

6

7

8

10

11

14

19

20

5 WHEREAS, Assigned to the 10th Cavalry Regiment, 2nd Brigade

Combat Team, 4th Infantry Division, Staff Sergeant Lloyd was one of

two soldiers killed when a roadside bomb detonated near their

dismounted patrol during combat operations in Baghdad, Iraq; and

9 WHEREAS, Americans owe a profound debt to our nation's

servicemen and servicewomen, whose courageous efforts and enormous

sacrifices are deserving of their fellow citizens' deepest respect

12 and gratitude; and

WHEREAS, Exemplifying the highest ideals of the U.S. armed

forces, Michael C. Lloyd inspired others with his fortitude,

tenacity, and courage; although his death leaves a void in the lives

of his loved ones, they will forever carry memories of this heroic

17 Texan close in their hearts; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Staff

Sergeant Michael C. Lloyd and extend deepest sympathy to all those

21 who mourn his passing; and, be it further

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 3 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of U.S.
- 4 Army Staff Sergeant Michael C. Lloyd.

Aycock

| Craddick | Gattis | Miles |
|------------------|---------------------|------------------|
| Allen | Geren | Miller |
| Alonzo | Giddings | Moreno |
| Anchia | Gonzales | Morrison |
| Anderson | Gonzalez Toureilles | Mowery |
| Aycock | Goolsby | Murphy |
| Bailey | Guillen | Naishtat |
| Berman | Haggerty | Noriega |
| | Hamilton | 9 |
| Bohac | | O'Day |
| Bolton | Hancock | Oliveira |
| Bonnen | Hardcastle | Olivo |
| Branch | Harless | Orr |
| Brown of Kaufman | Harper-Brown | Ortiz, Jr. |
| Brown of Brazos | Hartnett | Otto |
| Burnam | Heflin _ | Parker |
| Callegari | Hernandez | Patrick |
| Castro | Herrero | Paxton |
| Chavez | Hilderbran | Pena |
| Chisum | Hill | Phillips |
| Christian | Hochberg | Pickett |
| Cohen | Hodge | Pierson |
| Coleman | Homer | Pitts |
| Cook of Navarro | Hopson | Puente |
| Cook of Colorado | Howard of Fort Bend | Quintanilla |
| Corte | Howard of Travis | Raymond |
| Crabb | Hughes | Riddle |
| Creighton | Isett | Ritter |
| Crownover | Jackson | Rodriguez |
| Darby | Jones | Rose |
| Davis of Harris | Keffer | Smith of Tarrant |
| Davis of Dallas | King of Parker | Smith of Harris |
| Delisi | King of Taylor | Smithee |
| Deshotel | King of Zavala | Solomons |
| Driver | Kolkhorst | Strama |
| Dukes | Krusee | Straus |
| Dunnam | Kuempel | Swinford |
| Dutton | Latham | Talton |
| Eiland | Laubenberg | Taylor |
| Eissler | Leibowitz | Thompson |
| Elkins | Lucio III | Truitt |
| England | Macias | Turner |
| Escobar | Madden | Van Arsdale |
| | | |
| Farabee | Mallory Caraway | Vaught |
| Farias | Martinez | Veasey |
| Farrar | Martinez Fischer | Villarreal |
| Flores | McCall | Vo |
| Flynn | McClendon | West |
| Frost | McReynolds | Woolley |
| Gallego | Menendez | Zedler |
| Garcia | Merritt | Zerwas |
| | | |

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2365 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 18, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House