H.R. No. 2522

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas Attorney General's Office--Child Support 2 Division has been named the recipient of the 2007 Outstanding 3 Program Award from the National Child Support Enforcement 4 Association; and

5 WHEREAS, A nonprofit membership organization that represents 6 the child support community, NCSEA works to promote the well-being 7 of children through advocacy, public awareness, and professional development opportunities; each year, it recognizes a state, 8 9 regional, tribal, or county program that consistently and comprehensively exemplifies the best in child support enforcement 10 11 through an outstanding record of performance and the provision of 12 effective services to its constituency and community; and

WHEREAS, For fiscal year 2006, Texas collected more than \$2 billion in child support, representing a 62 percent success rate on current claims and a 67 percent success rate on past-due ones; collecting \$7.52 for every dollar spent, this cost-effective program also successfully established paternity in 92 percent of its cases; and

WHEREAS, The Texas child support program was also commended for the number of initiatives it has developed to maintain quality and consistency; these include the Employer One-Stop, a website that provides a single location for employers to obtain information and perform child support-related functions, the child support review process, which allows parents to negotiate child support

1

1 orders without going to court, and early intervention and 2 monitoring, an automated process for tracking payments on new 3 cases; and

WHEREAS, In addition, the Child Support Division surveys constituents to determine its effectiveness in providing services, and local offices are actively engaged with their communities; and

7 WHEREAS, Offering invaluable services for single parents and 8 their children, the Texas Attorney General's Office--Child Support 9 Division makes a significant difference in the lives of Texas 10 families, and this award justly acknowledges the program's 11 impressive achievements; now, therefore, be it

12 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 13 Legislature hereby congratulate the Texas Attorney General's 14 Office--Child Support Division on its receipt of the 2007 15 Outstanding Program Award from the National Child Support 16 Enforcement Association and extend to all those associated with the 17 program sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it 18 further

19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 20 prepared for the division as an expression of high regard by the 21 Texas House of Representatives.

Dutton

H.R. No. 2522

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

Miles

H.R. No. 2522

H.R. No. 2522

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2522 was adopted by the House on May 23, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House