H.R. No. 2524

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Since its founding in 1978, the Irving Heritage
Society has played an integral role in this Dallas County
community; and

WHEREAS, The organization was established to help preserve historic sites such as Heritage House and to promote an interest in regional history; through the hard work and dedication of its members, the society has accumulated an impressive record of achievements, including the establishment of Heritage Park, the restoration of Caster Cabin, and the publication of Irving, A Texas Odyssey; a cosponsor of the annual Irving Heritage Festival, the society hosts the "Bracebridge Dinner" each February and produces a lecture series and monthly newsletter; moreover, members have worked alongside the Irving Preservation and Redevelopment Board to form the Historic Heritage District, sponsor historic tours and trails, and encourage the development of Bear Creek Heritage Park; and

WHEREAS, Under the leadership of their new president Suzy Beeman, recently selected board members are Pat Cook, Steven Jones, Diane Mannon, Norma Stanton, and Georgia Regelsky, and the Heritage Society's officers for 2007-2008 are vice presidents Esther Nachimson, Paula Flatley, and Randy Boatwright, recording secretary Myrna Mercer, corresponding secretary Sally Hendricks, treasurer Gary Schepf, parliamentarian Clayton Dobson, historian Kevin Kendro, and the 2008-2009 president-elect Dan Matkin; and

H.R. No. 2524

- WHEREAS, The preservation of a community's past is truly a worthwhile undertaking, and for nearly 30 years, members of the Irving Heritage Society have worked to foster local pride and encourage interest in the rich history of their city; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
  Legislature hereby recognize all those associated with the Irving
  Heritage Society and extend to its members and officers best wishes
  for the future; and, be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for the organization as an expression of high regard by the 12 Texas House of Representatives.

Harper-Brown

H.R. No. 2524

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2524 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House