## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, William G. Otton retired from his position as director of the Art Museum of South Texas in March 2007, after 14 years of service to the Corpus Christi arts community and nearly three decades in arts administration; and

WHEREAS, Born in Honolulu, Bill Otton served as an associate professor of art at Corpus Christi State University from 1974 until 1980, when he began his career in arts administration as the director of the Laguna Art Museum in California; in 1988, he began a two-year tenure as president of the Art Institute of Southern California in Laguna Beach, and from 1990 to 1993 he served as president of the Wichita Center for the Arts in Kansas; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Otton returned to Corpus Christi in 1993 to take over as director of the Art Museum of South Texas; over the course of the next 14 years, he was instrumental in the growth of this dynamic institution, expanding the museum's collection from 700 art works to some 2,000 and helping to increase its endowment from \$45,000 to \$750,000; and

WHEREAS, In addition, Mr. Otton led a 10-year effort to expand the museum's facilities, initiating a \$10 million capital campaign that resulted in the opening in October 2006 of a 28,000-square-foot addition designed by Mexican architect Ricardo Legorreta; and

WHEREAS, A fine painter in his own right, Bill Otton has been a champion for the arts in Corpus Christi, and he has contributed

- 1 greatly to the cultural vitality of the region; now, therefore, be
- 2 it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby congratulate William G. Otton on his retirement
- 5 as director of the Art Museum of South Texas and extend to him best
- 6 wishes for success; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Mr. Otton as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 9 House of Representatives.

Ortiz, Jr.

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Goolsby Aycock Murphy Bailey Guillen Naishtat Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Bohac Hamilton Bolton Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bonnen Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Heflin Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Phillips Chisum Hill Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Pierson Hodge Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cook of Colorado Corte Raymond Riddle Crabb Hughes Creighton Ritter Isett Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Darby Jones Rose Keffer Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor Delisi Smithee King of Zavala Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Kuempel Swinford Dunnam Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Leibowitz Thompson Lucio III Elkins Truitt Macias Turner England Escobar Madden Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Veasey Farias Martinez Martinez Fischer Farrar Villarreal Flores McCall Vo McClendon West Flynn McReynolds Woolley Frost Gallego Menendez Zedler

Zerwas

Merritt

Garcia

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2531 was adopted by the House on May 23, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House