H.R. No. 2535

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, In recognition of her outstanding volunteer 2 service, Kristina Lindsey received a 2007 Young Jefferson Award for 3 Public Service at a ceremony held at Lamar University in Beaumont on 4 March 6, 2007; and

5 WHEREAS, Established in 1972 by the American Institute for 6 Public Service, the awards are presented both nationally and 7 locally, with the local awards honoring ordinary people for 8 performing extraordinary service without expectation of reward; 9 the awards for southeast Texas have been sponsored since 1990 by the 10 *Beaumont Enterprise*, which selected 11 volunteers this year out of 11 50 nominations; and

12 WHEREAS, A student at Monsignor Kelly High School, Ms. 13 Lindsey has been involved with the annual American Cancer Society 14 Relay for Life for four years, serving for the past two years as a 15 student director; and

16 WHEREAS, Crowned Texas Pecan Queen in 2004, she initiated the 17 Project Love holiday greeting card program for residents of 18 Magnolia Manor Nursing Residence; her other service to her 19 community includes teaching a religious education class at St. 20 Catherine's Church in Port Arthur and acting as president of her 21 school's Students Against Destructive Decisions suicide prevention 22 program; and

23 WHEREAS, Ms. Lindsey has given selflessly of her time and 24 energy to benefit her fellow citizens, and it is indeed fitting that

1

H.R. No. 2535

she be recognized with this notable honor; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Kristina Lindsey on her selection as a recipient of a 2007 Young Jefferson Award by the *Beaumont Enterprise* and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Ms. Lindsey as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.

Deshotel

H.R. No. 2535

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2535 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House