By: Deshotel H.R. No. 2539

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, In recognition of their outstanding volunteer
- 2 service, Joe and Linda Domino received a 2007 Jefferson Award for
- 3 Public Service at a ceremony held at Lamar University in Beaumont on
- 4 March 6, 2007; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Established in 1972 by the American Institute for
- 6 Public Service, the awards are presented both nationally and
- 7 locally, with the local awards honoring ordinary people for
- 8 performing extraordinary service without expectation of reward;
- 9 the awards for southeast Texas have been sponsored since 1990 by the
- 10 Beaumont Enterprise, which selected 11 volunteers this year out of
- 11 50 nominations; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Domino, the president and CEO of Entergy Texas,
- 13 and Mrs. Domino, a former schoolteacher, have given generously to
- 14 their community not just through donations, but also through the
- 15 gift of their time; they are active in their church, St. Anthony
- 16 Cathedral Basilica, as well as such organizations as Catholic
- 17 Charities and the Boy Scouts of America; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Mr. Domino has been involved with the Boy Scouts
- 19 since their son was a Cub Scout, and he has acted as a scouting
- 20 volunteer all the way up to the regional level; Mrs. Domino is
- 21 active with the American Heart Association, the Gift of Life
- organization, and an Alzheimer's support group; and
- WHEREAS, This compassionate and committed couple have
- 24 selflessly shared the blessings of their success with others, and

H.R. No. 2539

- 1 it is indeed fitting that they be recognized with this notable
- 2 honor; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby congratulate Joe and Linda Domino on their
- 5 selection for a 2007 Jefferson Award by the Beaumont Enterprise and
- 6 extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it
- 7 further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for Mr. and Mrs. Domino as an expression of high regard by
- 10 the Texas House of Representatives.