H.R. No. 2540

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, In recognition of his outstanding volunteer service, Chris Gonzales received a 2007 Jefferson Award for Public Service at a ceremony held at Lamar University in Beaumont on March 6, 2007; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1972 by the American Institute for Public Service, the awards are presented both nationally and locally, with the local awards honoring ordinary people for performing extraordinary service without expectation of reward; the awards for southeast Texas have been sponsored since 1990 by the Beaumont Enterprise, which selected 11 volunteers this year out of 50 nominations; and

WHEREAS, A professional industrial firefighter for 26 years, Mr. Gonzales also fights fires in his free time as chief of the volunteer Jefferson County Emergency Services District No. 1 in Bevil Oaks; he has volunteered with the district since 1993; and

WHEREAS, Covering a region of 32 square miles, the emergency services team of the district provides emergency medical care to remote rural locations, providing needed assistance until an ambulance arrives; to that end, Mr. Gonzales earned his paramedic certification in 1998; and

WHEREAS, Fighting fires both as a professional and as a volunteer, Mr. Gonzales has given generously of his time and energy to safeguard the lives and property of his fellow citizens, and it is indeed fitting that he be recognized with this notable honor;

H.R. No. 2540

- 1 now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Chris Gonzales on his selection as
- 4 a recipient of a 2007 Jefferson Award by the Beaumont Enterprise and
- 5 extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it
- 6 further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Mr. Gonzales as an expression of high regard by the
- 9 Texas House of Representatives.

Deshotel

H.R. No. 2540

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2540 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House