H.R. No. 2589

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The student volunteers of Midland Teen Court provide
an important civic service by taking part in a juvenile justice
program that benefits area residents and also provides valuable
experience for the young participants who fill the courtroom
assignments; and
WHEREAS, Using judges, lawyers, and teen volunteers to offer
"restorative justice" to peers. Teen Court hears cases involving

WHEREAS, Using judges, lawyers, and teen volunteers to offer "restorative justice" to peers, Teen Court hears cases involving teenage defendants who have plead guilty to a Class C misdemeanor; and

WHEREAS, Ten graduating seniors from Midland ISD volunteered to become part of an actual courtroom, acting as the prosecution, defense, and jury, and their contributions to this important program earned them a total of \$12,250 in scholarships; participants include James Matthew Carathers, Neil P. Doctor, Sydney D. Freeman, Arun Ramkhelawan, Ainsley Anne Rea, and Stephanie Michelle Strauss from Lee High School, and Ismail Shakoor Boodhwani, Jr., Douglas William Eichorst III, Celeste Amanda Martinez, and Meagan Rachelle Mowles from Midland High School; and WHEREAS, By aiding the administration of juvenile justice,

WHEREAS, By aiding the administration of juvenile justice, these fine young Texans have contributed to the well-being of this state while learning important lessons for the future, and they are indeed deserving of recognition for their efforts; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

H.R. No. 2589

- 1 Legislature hereby recognize the Midland ISD student volunteers of
- 2 Midland Teen Court and commend them for their dedicated service to
- 3 the community; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for these notable young men and women as an expression of
- 6 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Craddick

H.R. No. 2589

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2589 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House