H.R. No. 2614

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Gary Walston is retiring from his position as 2 director of the Texas Committee for the Employer Support of the 3 Guard and Reserve (ESGR) in June 2007; and

WHEREAS, After volunteering his time to serve as the Texas ombudsman coordinator and chairman of the National Committee's Ombudsman Subcommittee, Mr. Walston accepted the reins of the fledgling ESGR program in June 2005; under his able guidance, the Texas Committee for the ESGR has established a full-time support system with a fully staffed and effective office; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Walston's three-decade military career included tenures with the U.S. Air Force and the Air National Guard; before his retirement from active guard status in 1995, he worked with the Pentagon to assist in the development of the Rated Distribution and Training Development program and served as chief of Air National Guard Manpower and Organization, assistant deputy for operations at the 136th Airlift Wing, and commander of the 149th Fighter Wing; and WHEREAS, Mr. Walston has been a valued member of the Order of Daedalians, the leading military pilot fraternity, which he has served two terms as a director; and

WHEREAS, His uncompromising dedication to his fellow guard members has earned the lasting respect and admiration of all who are privileged to know him, and his retirement provides a fitting opportunity to honor him; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

H.R. No. 2614

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Gary Walston on the occasion of his
- 2 retirement from the Texas Committee for the Employer Support of the
- 3 Guard and Reserve (ESGR) and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 4 the future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Walston as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Noriega

H.R. No. 2614

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2614 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House