H.R. No. 2632

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Melissa Henderson has deservedly been named the 2 2006-2007 Gatorade National Girls Soccer Player of the Year; and

WHEREAS, During her junior year at Berkner High School in Richardson, Ms. Henderson led her team to the Class 5A Region 2 quarterfinals and an 18-11 record; she has also demonstrated excellence as a member of the cross-country, basketball, and track teams, and she is further committed to excelling in academics and her extracurricular endeavors, including student council and debate; and

WHEREAS, Already the Lady Rams' all-time leader in goals scored with 66, this dynamic young student-athlete logged 24 goals and 12 assists during the 2006-2007 season; that feat is all the more impressive considering that she spent significant time at the defensive sweeper position and missed six games while fulfilling her obligations with the U.S. Soccer Federation Under-17 and Under-20 National Teams; and

WHEREAS, The Gatorade National Player of the Year award is recognized as one of the most coveted in all of high school sports, and Ms. Henderson's receipt of this noteworthy honor has placed her in the distinguished company of some of America's finest athletes; with her winning combination of physical skill, infectious enthusiasm, and mental agility and focus, she will undoubtedly continue to excel as she tackles new challenges in the world of soccer; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2632

- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
  Legislature hereby congratulate Melissa Henderson on her selection
  as the 2006-2007 Gatorade National Girls Soccer Player of the Year
  and extend to her sincere best wishes for a bright and promising
  future; and, be it further
  RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Ms. Henderson as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Hill

H.R. No. 2632

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2632 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House