H.R. No. 2633

RESOLUTION 1 WHEREAS, The family and friends of U.S. Army Specialist Ryan 2 Collins of Vernon suffered an immeasurable loss with the death of 3 this valiant soldier on May 18, 2007, at the age of 20; and WHEREAS, Specialist Collins served his country as a member of 4 C Company, 1st Battalion, 501st Parachute Infantry Regiment, 4th 5 6 Brigade Combat Team, 25th Infantry Division; notwithstanding the hazardous nature of his work, he approached his mission with pride 7 and professionalism, his steadfast commitment made all the more 8 firm by his strong desire to help the Iraqi people; and 9 WHEREAS, A 2004 graduate of Vernon High School, Specialist 10 11 Collins attended Vernon College before enlisting in the army in 12 2005; he enjoyed working with his hands and was known to be caring 13 and compassionate, always ready to help others in need; and 14 WHEREAS, Our state and nation are fortunate to have young men 15 and women whose love for their country inspires them to take up military service, yet the tragic death of this exemplary soldier is 16

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of U.S. Army Specialist Ryan Collins and extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his mother and stepfather, Danita and David Logsdon; to his father, Lynn Collins; to his brother, Eric Collins; to his

a sobering reminder of the cost of war; those who knew and loved

Specialist Collins will forever carry him close in their hearts;

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2633

- 1 half-brothers, Cameron and Colton Collins; and to his other
- 2 relatives and many friends; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 5 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of U.S. Army
- 6 Specialist Ryan Collins.

Hardcastle

H.R. No. 2633

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2633 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 25, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House