H.R. No. 2635

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, January 1, 2008, will mark the end of an era in the 2 Austin arts community as Pebbles Wadsworth steps down from her 3 position as director of the Performing Arts Center at The 4 University of Texas at Austin; and

5 WHEREAS, Ms. Wadsworth came to the Capitol City from the UCLA Performing Arts Center in 1992, and she has served in the position 6 longer than all four of her predecessors combined; 7 the UT Performing Arts Center, which is currently celebrating its 25th 8 anniversary, consists of Bass Concert Hall, Hogg 9 Memorial Auditorium, the Bates Recital Hall, the B. Iden Payne Theatre, 10 McCullough Theatre, and the Oscar B. Brockett Theatre, and together 11 12 these six venues host more than a quarter of a million visitors 13 annually; and

WHEREAS, Over the course of her career at the PAC, Ms. 14 Wadsworth has helped transform the center into one of the most 15 preeminent performing arts venues in the country; in addition to 16 bringing world-class artists and programs to UT, she has 17 established an endowment fund, promoted the institution as a 18 rehearsal and development facility for musical productions, laid 19 the groundwork for a \$14.7 million renovation of Bass Concert Hall, 20 21 and founded ArtesAmericas, a program encouraging Latin American 22 artists to use UT as a point of entry for North American tours and a 23 key element in extending the university's artistic reach into Latin 24 America; and

1

## H.R. No. 2635

1 WHEREAS, The first female president of the International 2 Society for the Performing Arts, Pebbles Wadsworth has been the 3 heart and soul of the PAC for 15 years, and her exemplary efforts 4 not only have been of immeasurable benefit to Austin and Texas but 5 have distinguished her as a professional of the highest caliber; 6 now, therefore, be it

7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 8 Legislature hereby congratulate Pebbles Wadsworth on her 9 retirement as director of The University of Texas at Austin 10 Performing Arts Center and recognize her as an honorary Texan in 11 acknowledgment of her myriad contributions to the cultural vitality 12 of the Lone Star State; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Ms. Wadsworth as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives and as formal proof of her new status as an honorary Texan.

Kuempel

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

## H.R. No. 2635

Miles

H.R. No. 2635

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2635 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House