By: Branch

H.R. No. 2660

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Nine Texas high school students have been named to 2 the 2007 U.S. Lacrosse Men's Division High School All-America Team, 3 and this significant achievement ranks these talented 4 student-athletes among the nation's elite high school lacrosse 5 players; and

6 WHEREAS, The U.S. Lacrosse Men's Division High School 7 All-America Team is chosen by members of the U.S. Lacrosse Men's 8 Division Coaches Council High School Committee; selection to the 9 team is an honor reserved for those individuals who demonstrate 10 superlative achievement on the field; and

11 WHEREAS, The Texas contingent consists of Sam Stevenson of 12 Southlake Carroll High School, Neat Clark of Episcopal High School in Houston, Byron Langford of the Kinkaid School in Houston, 13 Spencer Branch of St. Mark's School of Texas, George Lauinger of St. 14 Mark's School of Texas, Rhett Miller of the Episcopal School of 15 Dallas, Alex Hardt of the Episcopal School of Dallas, William 16 Lawson of Highland Park High School in Dallas, and Juan Michael 17 18 Portillo of Anderson High School in Austin; notably, Mr. Portillo also earned academic all-America honors; and 19

20 WHEREAS, These highly skilled student-athletes have 21 dedicated themselves to excellence on the lacrosse field, and their 22 commitment to reaching their goal is indeed worthy of special 23 praise; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

1

Legislature hereby congratulate the Texas students who have been named to the 2007 U.S. Lacrosse Men's Division High School All-America Team and extend best wishes to them for continued success in all their endeavors; and, be it further

H.R. No. 2660

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for the lacrosse all-Americans as an expression of high 7 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

2