H.R. No. 2678

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Texas has a rich tradition of great music, and music
 is the universal human language that has the power to bring together
 peoples of all backgrounds and political affiliations; and

WHEREAS, The Bad Precedents is a group of musicians linked by
the common thread of service to the State of Texas; and

6 WHEREAS, The performance of live music by The Bad Precedents 7 during the regular session of the 80th Texas Legislature has served 8 to unite the members of the legislature and bring joy to countless 9 listeners, fans, and dancers, including Mr. Tom Craddick and his 10 wife, Nadine; and

WHEREAS, The Bad Precedents consists of State Senator Bob Deuell, State Representative Jim Dunnam, Vernon Effenberger, Kelly Fine, Michael Garemko, Ross Peavey, Tommy Tynes, and Jeff Rotkoff; and

WHEREAS, The Bad Precedents played with many special guests, 15 16 including State Representatives Roberto Alonzo, Lon Burnam, Joaquin Castro, Myra Crownover, Kirk England, Stephen Frost, Pete 17 18 Gallego, Juan Garcia, Veronica Gonzales, Pat Haggerty, Abel Herrero, Bryan Hughes, Susan King, Tommy Merritt, Borris Miles, 19 Elliott Naishtat, Joe Pickett, Richard Raymond, Larry Taylor, and 20 21 Marc Veasey, Senator Jane Nelson, and Hugh Brady, Karen Brooks, Paul Brown, Denise Davis, Lauren Dunnam, Mason Dunnam, Sandie 22 23 Haverlah, Dave McNeely, Steve Sheffield, Kevin Vickers, and Lara 24 Wendler; and

1

H.R. No. 2678

1 WHEREAS, No band can function properly without quality 2 roadies and support personnel, and The Bad Precedents are well 3 served by Jenny Casey, Russell Devorsky, Jerry Philips, Leighton 4 Wilson, and others; and

5 WHEREAS, The Bad Precedents and all of their special guests 6 are deserving of special recognition for their fine work; now, 7 therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 9 Legislature hereby honor The Bad Precedents and their special 10 guests for their outstanding musical performances during the 11 regular session of the 80th Texas Legislature; and, be it further

12 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 13 Legislature hereby encourage The Bad Precedents to keep on rocking 14 in the free world; and, be it further

15 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas 16 Legislature hereby recognize The Bad Precedents as the official 17 band of the regular session of the 80th Texas Legislature; and, be 18 it further

19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 20 prepared for each member of The Bad Precedents and each of their 21 special guests as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of 22 Representatives.

Burnam

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Anchia Anderson Aycock Bailey Berman Bohac Bolton Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Cohen Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Delisi Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins England Escobar Farabee Farias Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Garcia

Gattis Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goolsby Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hernandez Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Hughes Isett Jackson Jones Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Latham Laubenberg Leibowitz Lucio III Macias Madden Mallory Caraway Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Merritt

Miller Moreno Morrison Mowery Murphy Naishtat Noriega O'Day Oliveira Olivo Orr Ortiz, Jr. Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pierson Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Van Arsdale Vaught Veasey Villarreal Vo West Woolley Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 2678

Miles

H.R. No. 2678

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2678 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House