RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Lieutenant Dharell Campbell retired from the Del Rio
- 2 Fire and Rescue Department on January 31, 2007, concluding an
- 3 outstanding career in public service that spanned more than 40
- 4 years; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Beloved and respected by his fellow firefighters,
- 6 Lieutenant Campbell began serving with the Del Rio Volunteer Fire
- 7 Department in 1967 and joined the city's professional fire
- 8 department in 1978; he earned the rank of lieutenant in 1989; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Recognized as a hero by many after rescuing a young
- 10 girl from a blazing house in 1998, Lieutenant Campbell has remained
- 11 typically humble and self-effacing, even after receiving the
- 12 department's medal of honor; and
- WHEREAS, In his retirement, Lieutenant Campbell is spending
- 14 more time with his wife and high school sweetheart, Janice, with
- whom he has shared 45 years of marriage; the couple continue to work
- 16 together at Campbell's Car Rental and Gifts, a venture they started
- 17 a few years back; and
- WHEREAS, A dedicated firefighter, loving husband, and friend
- 19 of the community, Dharell Campbell has inspired countless people
- 20 with his work ethic, his strong and loving union with his wife, and
- 21 his service to his fellow citizens, and he can look back with pride
- on a successful career; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby recognize Dharell Campbell on his retirement

- 1 from the Del Rio Fire and Rescue Department and commend him for his
- 2 many years of service to the citizens of Del Rio; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for Lieutenant Campbell as an expression of high regard by
- 5 the Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Miller Geren Alonzo Giddings Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Goolsby Aycock Murphy Bailey Guillen Naishtat Berman Haggerty Noriega O'Day Bohac Hamilton Bolton Hancock Oliveira Hardcastle Bonnen Olivo Harless Branch Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Burnam Heflin Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Chavez Hilderbran Pena Phillips Chisum Hill Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Pierson Hodge Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Quintanilla Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Cook of Colorado Corte Raymond Riddle Crabb Hughes Creighton Ritter Isett Crownover Jackson Rodriguez Darby Jones Rose Keffer Davis of Harris Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris King of Taylor Delisi Smithee King of Zavala Deshotel Solomons Driver Kolkhorst Strama Dukes Krusee Straus Kuempel Swinford Dunnam Dutton Latham Talton Eiland Laubenberg Taylor Eissler Leibowitz Thompson Lucio III Elkins Truitt Macias Turner England Escobar Madden Van Arsdale Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught Veasey Farias Martinez Martinez Fischer Farrar Villarreal Flores McCall Vo McClendon West Flynn McReynolds Woolley Frost

Zedler

Zerwas

Menendez

Merritt

Gallego

Garcia

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2783 was adopted by the House on May 26, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House