RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The passing of Clayton McKinney on August 20, 2004, 2 at the age of 64, brought to a close a life of personal and

3 professional achievement; and

WHEREAS, Born in Marathon on June 4, 1940, Mr. McKinney was

the son of Pat and Vera McKinney; he was involved in law enforcement

throughout his adult life, working as a pilot and game warden for

the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department in Van Horn before joining

8 the famed Texas Rangers; and

9 WHEREAS, Mr. McKinney's tenure with Texas Ranger Company "E"

began on September 1, 1969; he remained stationed in Sierra Blanca

until January 1977, when he transferred to the outfit's Alpine

12 station; and

5

6

7

10

11

14

19

20

WHEREAS, After his retirement from the Rangers on August 31,

1985, this dedicated peace officer continued to serve his fellow

15 Texans as a member of the Midland County Sheriff's Office,

16 providing leadership and invaluable experience as chief deputy of

that organization until his second retirement in 2002; and

WHEREAS, Clayton McKinney devoted his life to serving and

protecting citizens of the Lone Star State, and although he is

deeply missed, he will long be remembered with admiration and

21 affection by those whose lives he touched; now, therefore, be it

22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

23 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Clayton McKinney and

24 extend sincere sympathy to his wife, Jean, and to his other

- 1 relatives and friends; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
- 4 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Clayton
- 5 McKinney.

Gallego

Craddick	Gattis	Miles
Allen	Geren	Miller
Alonzo	Giddings	Moreno
Anchia	Gonzales	Morrison
Anderson	Gonzalez Toureilles	Mowery
Aycock	Goolsby	Murphy
Bailey	Guillen	Naishtat
Berman	Haggerty	Noriega
	Hamilton	9
Bohac		O'Day
Bolton	Hancock	Oliveira
Bonnen	Hardcastle	Olivo
Branch	Harless	Orr
Brown of Kaufman	Harper-Brown	Ortiz, Jr.
Brown of Brazos	Hartnett	Otto
Burnam	Heflin _	Parker
Callegari	Hernandez	Patrick
Castro	Herrero	Paxton
Chavez	Hilderbran	Pena
Chisum	Hill	Phillips
Christian	Hochberg	Pickett
Cohen	Hodge	Pierson
Coleman	Homer	Pitts
Cook of Navarro	Hopson	Puente
Cook of Colorado	Howard of Fort Bend	Quintanilla
Corte	Howard of Travis	Raymond
Crabb	Hughes	Riddle
Creighton	Isett	Ritter
Crownover	Jackson	Rodriguez
Darby	Jones	Rose
Davis of Harris	Keffer	Smith of Tarrant
Davis of Dallas	King of Parker	Smith of Harris
Delisi	King of Taylor	Smithee
Deshotel	King of Zavala	Solomons
Driver	Kolkhorst	Strama
Dukes	Krusee	Straus
Dunnam	Kuempel	Swinford
Dutton	Latham	Talton
Eiland	Laubenberg	Taylor
Eissler	Leibowitz	Thompson
Elkins	Lucio III	Truitt
England	Macias	Turner
Escobar	Madden	Van Arsdale
Farabee	Mallory Caraway	Vaught
Farias	Martinez	Veasey
Farrar	Martinez Fischer	Villarreal
Flores	McCall	Vo
Flynn	McClendon	West
Frost	McReynolds	Woolley
Gallego	Menendez	Zedler
Garcia	Merritt	Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2784 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 26, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House