H.R. No. 2861

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Lone Star State lost a distinguished native son 1 2

with the passing of Dr. Herbert H. Reynolds on May 25, 2007; and

3 WHEREAS, Raised in East Texas, Herbert Reynolds joined the

U.S. Air Force as a young man and served his country on active duty

while attending Trinity University, where he earned a bachelor's

6 degree in industrial psychology; and

WHEREAS, He continued his studies at the University of Denver 7

and Air Force University, and before his retirement from the

military in 1968, he served as director of research at

internationally renowned Air Force-NASA biomedical laboratory and

as establishing commander of the Air Force Human Research Resources

12 Laboratories; and

4

5

8

9

10

11

14

16

17

18

20

22

23

13 WHEREAS, In 1956, Dr. Reynolds arrived in Waco to join the

staff of Baylor University; working as an Air Force ROTC assistant

professor, this prolific scholar earned his master's degree and 15

Ph.D., and his love of the Baylor community led him to devote his

career following his military service to the school; beginning his

outstanding tenure as executive vice president in 1969, he served

14 years as president and five years as chancellor before becoming 19

the university's president emeritus in June 2000; and

21 WHEREAS, The author of nearly 50 publications, he was a

visiting scholar and fellow at Cambridge University and a member of

Phi Beta Kappa, Sigma Xi, and Alpha Chi honor societies; also a

dedicated civic leader, he served as director of Community Bank and 24

Trust of Waco and shared his time with a number of boards and 25

- 1 committees; and
- 2 WHEREAS, His contributions earned him a host of prestigious
- 3 accolades, including the Baylor Founders Medal, the Scottish Rite
- 4 Stephen F. Austin Award, the Independent Colleges and Universities
- 5 of Texas Founders Medal, and the Association of Fundraising
- 6 Professionals Lifetime Achievement Award; and
- WHEREAS, Dr. Reynolds inspired many with his strong Christian
- 8 faith, which guided him in all of his endeavors; a valued member of
- 9 First Baptist Church of Waco, he had served his congregation as a
- 10 deacon and deacon chairman; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Throughout his time on this earth, Herbert Reynolds
- 12 was widely respected as a man of wisdom and integrity, who gave
- 13 unstintingly of his energies and talents in whatever mission he
- 14 undertook; his purposeful life was rich in family, friends, and
- accomplishments, and although he will be greatly missed by all who
- 16 knew him, his spirit will live on in the hearts of the many people
- 17 whose lives he touched; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 19 Legislature hereby pay special tribute to the life of Dr. Herbert H.
- 20 Reynolds and extend deepest sympathy to his wife, Joy; to his
- 21 children, Kevin, Kent, and Rhonda; and to all those who mourn the
- 22 passing of this esteemed Texan; and, be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for the members of his family and that when the Texas House
- of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Dr.
- 26 Herbert H. Reynolds.

Dunnam

H.R. No. 2861

Craddick Gattis Miles Allen Geren Miller Giddings Alonzo Moreno Anchia Gonzales Morrison Anderson Gonzalez Toureilles Mowery Aycock Goolsby Murphy Guillen Naishtat Bailey Noriega Berman Haggerty Bohac Hamilton O'Day Hancock Bolton Oliveira Bonnen Hardcastle Olivo Branch Harless Orr Brown of Kaufman Harper-Brown Ortiz, Jr. Brown of Brazos Hartnett Otto Heflin Burnam Parker Callegari Hernandez Patrick Castro Herrero Paxton Hilderbran Chavez Pena

Chisum Hill Phillips Christian Hochberg Pickett Cohen Hodge Pierson Coleman Pitts Homer Cook of Navarro Hopson Puente Howard of Fort Bend Cook of Colorado Quintanilla Howard of Travis Corte Raymond Crabb Hughes Riddle Creighton Ritter Isett

Crownover Jackson Rodriguez
Darby Jones Rose

Davis of Harris Keffer Smith of Tarrant
Davis of Dallas King of Parker Smith of Harris

Smithee

Strama

Straus

Talton

Taylor

Truitt

Solomons

Swinford

Thompson

King of Parker King of Taylor Delisi King of Zavala Deshotel Driver Kolkhorst Dukes Krusee Dunnam Kuempel Latham Dutton Laubenberg Eiland Leibowitz Eissler Elkins Lucio III England Macias

England Macias Turner
Escobar Madden Van Arsdale
Farabee Mallory Caraway Vaught
Farias Martinez Veasey

Farrar Martinez Fischer Villarreal

Flores McCall Vo
Flynn McClendon West
Frost McReynolds Woolley
Gallego Menendez Zedler
Garcia Merritt Zerwas

H.R. No. 2861

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2861 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 26, 2007.

Chief Clerk of the House