H.R. No. 2899

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Jack Bowen of Victoria retired from his post as vice
- 2 president and general manager of Fordyce, Ltd., a Texas-based sand
- 3 and gravel company, in December 2006; and
- WHEREAS, Born in Louisiana, Mr. Bowen moved with his family
- 5 to Texas and graduated from high school in Alto in Cherokee County
- 6 in 1942; he served his country for three years in the South Pacific
- 7 during World War II; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Mr. Bowen began working at Fordyce in 1971, when he
- 9 opened a Houston branch of the company to serve the upper Gulf Coast
- 10 region; in 1980 he relocated to the company's headquarters in
- 11 Victoria; and
- WHEREAS, A leader in his field, Mr. Bowen has been a member of
- 13 numerous industry organizations; most notably, he has served on the
- 14 executive committee of the Texas Good Roads/Transportation
- 15 Association and has been its president since 2005; in addition, he
- 16 has taken an active role in the civic affairs of Victoria for more
- 17 than 25 years; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Mr. Bowen considers his family his greatest
- 19 accomplishment; he met his future wife, Peggy, when they were
- 20 students at Stephen F. Austin State University, and today the
- 21 couple has two children, Steve and Ted, as well as five
- 22 grandchildren; and
- 23 WHEREAS, Jack Bowen's distinguished career earned him the
- lasting respect of his colleagues, and his many contributions to

H.R. No. 2899

- 1 Fordyce and to the sand and gravel industry are indeed deserving of
- 2 recognition; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby congratulate Jack Bowen on his retirement and
- 5 extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Mr. Bowen as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

Morrison

H.R. No. 2899

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2899 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House