RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Each year, the John Ben Shepperd Public Leadership 1 2 Institute and The University of Texas of the Permian Basin host the 3 Texas Leadership Forum, a gathering that brings together future and current leaders of Texas to discuss issues facing the state and to 4 5 develop creative solutions for those problems; and 6 WHEREAS, At the 22nd annual forum, held in Austin in October 7 2006, 10 Texans were recognized for presenting the best overall solution during the forum's Search for Solutions competition; their 8 winning proposal strategically addressed the challenge of reducing 9 the state's high school drop-out rate and the associated costs to 10

11 society, while at the same time raising the percentage of at-risk 12 teenagers who enroll at an institution of higher learning; and

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, Those contributing to the best overall solution were Dan Stansbury, the facilitator, along with Zhanae Fox, Daniel Box, Christina Carranza, Iris Fiero, Sayeh Dardus, Eric Garcia, Juan Velasquez, Tanya Bidwell, and Kyle Keel; and

WHEREAS, Judges for the competition were Justice Phillip Johnson of the Texas Supreme Court, Dr. David McIntyre, director of the Integrative Center for Homeland Security at Texas A&M University, and Warren Von Eschenbach, director of the Senate Finance Subcommittee; and

WHEREAS, The college students and young professionals who gathered for the 2006 Texas Leadership Forum have demonstrated an exemplary commitment to public service, and their creativity,

H.R. No. 2958

- 1 initiative, and resourcefulness will serve this state well in the
- 2 years to come; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby honor the Texans who presented the best overall
- 5 solution during the Search for Solutions competition at the 2006
- 6 John Ben Shepperd Texas Leadership Forum and extend to them sincere
- 7 best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for these young leaders as an expression of high regard by
- 10 the Texas House of Representatives.

Kolkhorst

H.R. No. 2958

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2958 was adopted by the House on May 28, 2007, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House