By: Dutton H.R. No. 2978

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Students and alumni of Phillis Wheatley High School 1 2 in Houston are joining together to commemorate the 80th anniversary 3 of the establishment of this notable school during a three-day celebration from November 8 through November 11, 2007; and

5 WHEREAS, Established in the old McGowan Elementary School 6 building in Houston's Fifth Ward on January 31, 1927, the school was named in honor of poet Phillis Wheatley, the first African American 7 woman to publish a volume of poetry in America, and it was 8

originally led by principal E. O. Smith, who carefully selected the

school's initial faculty members; and

4

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, Located on Lyons Avenue until 1950, Phillis Wheatley Senior High School was moved to its present site on Market Street and rededicated in September of that year with principal John E. Codwell at the helm; the school has subsequently benefited from the visionary leadership of principals William Moore, A. C. Herald, Jr., Charles Herbert, Forest Henry, Jr., Eddie Orum, Harold Crawford, Horace Williams, and Bruce Goffney and current principal Wiley Johnson; and

WHEREAS, Through the years, many of the school's graduates have had a positive and profound impact in their various fields of endeavor, and the celebration of this landmark anniversary provides an ideal opportunity to pay tribute to the school's graduates and to the dedicated educators who inspired them to achieve their full potential; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2978

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 80th Texas

Legislature hereby commemorate the 80th anniversary of Phillis

Wheatley High School and extend best wishes to all those in

attendance at the 2007 anniversary celebration; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas

House of Representatives.