By: Seliger

S.B. No. 655

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED 1 AN ACT 2 relating to the membership of the governing board of the Department 3 of Information Resources. BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: 4 5 SECTION 1. Sections 2054.021(c) and (d), Government Code, 6 are amended to read as follows: (c) Two groups each composed of three ex officio members 7 serve on the board on a rotating basis. The ex officio members 8 serve as nonvoting members of the board. Only one group serves at a 9 time. The first group is composed of the commissioner of insurance 10 [workers' compensation], the executive commissioner of the Health 11 12 and Human Services Commission, and the executive director of the 13 Texas Department of Transportation. Members of the first group serve for two-year terms that begin February 1 of every other 14 odd-numbered year and that expire on February 1 of the next 15 16 odd-numbered year. The second group is composed of the commissioner of education, the executive director of the Texas 17 18 Department of Criminal Justice, and the executive director of the Parks and Wildlife Department. Members of the second group serve 19 for two-year terms that begin February 1 of the odd-numbered years 20 21 in which the terms of members of the first group expire and that expire on February 1 of the next odd-numbered year. 22

(d) An ex officio member may designate <u>an employee on the</u>
 <u>management or senior staff level</u> [the information resources]

80R3603 TAD-F

1

S.B. No. 655

manager] of the member's agency to serve in the member's place.
SECTION 2. This Act takes effect immediately if it receives
a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as
provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution. If this
Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this
Act takes effect September 1, 2007.