1 AN ACT 2 relating to the application of the professional prosecutors law to 3 the district attorney for the 143rd Judicial District. Δ BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: SECTION 1. Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to 5 6 read as follows: Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter 7 8 applies to all county prosecutors and to the following state 9 prosecutors: 10 (1) the district attorneys for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 11 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 42nd, 43rd, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 12 13 53rd, 63rd, 64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th, 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th, 14 15 123rd, 142nd, 143rd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th, 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th, 16 271st, 278th, 286th, 329th, 349th, and 355th judicial districts; 17 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties 18 19 of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland, 20 Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper, 21 22 Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, 23 24 Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller,

1

1 Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and

(3) the county attorneys performing the duties of
district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron,
Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Fannin, Freestone, Lamar,
Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree,
Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Terry, Webb, and
Willacy.

8 SECTION 2. Effective January 1, 2009, Section 46.002,
9 Government Code, is amended to read as follows:

10 Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter 11 applies to all county prosecutors and to the following state 12 prosecutors:

13 (1) the district attorneys for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 14 15 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 42nd, 43rd, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 16 53rd, 63rd, 64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th, 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th, 17 123rd, 142nd, 143rd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th, 18 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th, 19 20 271st, 278th, 286th, 329th, 344th, 349th, and 355th judicial 21 districts;

(2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties
of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell,
Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland,
Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper,
Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton,
Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant,

2

Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller,
 Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and

3 (3) the county attorneys performing the duties of
4 district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron,
5 Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Fannin, Freestone, Lamar,
6 Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree,
7 Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Terry, Webb, and
8 Willacy.

9

SECTION 3. This Act takes effect September 1, 2007.

President of the Senate Speaker of the House I hereby certify that S.B. No. 1414 passed the Senate on May 8, 2007, by the following vote: Yeas 31, Nays 0.

## Secretary of the Senate

I hereby certify that S.B. No. 1414 passed the House on May 23, 2007, by the following vote: Yeas 144, Nays O, two present not voting.

Chief Clerk of the House

Approved:

Date

Governor