By: Lucio

S.B. No. 1814

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT 2 relating to the creation of the office of district attorney for 3 Kenedy and Kleberg Counties and the district attorney for the 105th 4 Judicial District.

5 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

6 SECTION 1. Section 43.148, Government Code, is amended to 7 read as follows:

8 Sec. 43.148. 105TH JUDICIAL DISTRICT. (a) The voters of 9 <u>Nueces County</u> [the 105th Judicial District] elect a district 10 attorney for the 105th Judicial District who[. The district 11 attorney] has the same powers and duties as other district 12 attorneys and serves all the district, county, and justice courts 13 of Nueces County [and the district courts of Kleberg and Kenedy 14 counties].

15 (b) The district attorney shall attend each term and session 16 of the district, county, and justice courts of Nueces County [and 17 the district courts of Kleberg and Kenedy counties] and shall 18 represent the state in criminal cases pending in those courts. The 19 district attorney has control of any case heard on petition of writ 20 of habeas corpus before any district or inferior court in the 21 district.

(c) The commissioners <u>court</u> [courts] of <u>Nueces County</u> [the
 counties comprising the district] may supplement the state salary
 of the district attorney. The amount of the supplement may not

1

exceed \$12,000 a year. [The supplemental salary must be paid proportionately by the commissioners court of each county according to the population of the county.] The supplemental salary may be paid from the officers' salary fund of <u>the</u> [a] county. If that fund is inadequate, the commissioners court may transfer the necessary funds from the general fund of the county.

SECTION 2. Subchapter B, Chapter 43, Government Code, is
amended by adding Section 43.182 to read as follows:

9 <u>Sec. 43.182. DISTRICT ATTORNEY FOR KLEBERG AND KENEDY</u> 10 <u>COUNTIES. (a) The voters of Kleberg and Kenedy Counties elect a</u> 11 <u>district attorney. The district attorney has the same powers and</u> 12 <u>duties as other district attorneys and serves the district courts</u> 13 <u>of Kleberg and Kenedy Counties.</u>

14 (b) The district attorney shall attend each term and session 15 of the district courts of Kleberg and Kenedy Counties and shall 16 represent the state in criminal cases pending in those courts. The 17 district attorney has control of any case heard on petition of writ 18 of habeas corpus before any district or inferior court in the 19 district.

(c) The commissioners courts of the counties comprising the 20 district may supplement the state salary of the district attorney. 21 22 The amount of the supplement may not exceed \$12,000 a year. The supplemental salary must be paid proportionately by the 23 commissioners court of each county according to the population of 24 25 the county. The supplemental salary may be paid from the officers' salary fund of a county. If that fund is inadequate, the 26 27 commissioners court may transfer the necessary funds from the

1 general fund of the county.

2 SECTION 3. Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to 3 read as follows:

Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter applies to all county prosecutors and to the following state prosecutors:

(1) the district attorneys for Kenedy and Kleberg 7 Counties and for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 8 9 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 42nd, 43rd, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 64th, 66th, 10 11 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th, 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th, 123rd, 142nd, 145th, 12 13 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th, 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th, 271st, 278th, 286th, 329th, 14 15 349th, and 355th judicial districts;

16 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties 17 of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland, 18 Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, 19 Jasper, 20 Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton, 21 Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, 22 Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, 23 Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and

(3) the county attorneys performing the duties of
district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron,
Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Fannin, Freestone, Lamar,
Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree,

3

Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Terry, Webb, and
 Willacy.

3 SECTION 4. Effective January 1, 2009, Section 46.002,
4 Government Code, is amended to read as follows:

5 Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter 6 applies to all county prosecutors and to the following state 7 prosecutors:

(1)the district attorneys for Kenedy and Kleberg 8 9 Counties and for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 10 11 42nd, 43rd, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th, 97th, 100th, 12 13 105th, 106th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th, 123rd, 142nd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th, 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 14 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th, 271st, 278th, 286th, 329th, 15 16 344th, 349th, and 355th judicial districts;

17 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties 18 of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland, 19 20 Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper, 21 Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton, 22 Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, 23 Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and 24

(3) the county attorneys performing the duties of
district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron,
Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Fannin, Freestone, Lamar,

4

Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree,
 Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Terry, Webb, and
 Willacy.

4 SECTION 5. This Act takes effect September 1, 2007.