By: Lucio S.B. No. 1814

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

1 AN ACT

- 2 relating to the creation of the office of district attorney for
- 3 Kenedy and Kleberg Counties and the district attorney for Nueces
- 4 County.
- 5 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
- 6 SECTION 1. Section 43.148, Government Code, is amended to
- 7 read as follows:
- 8 Sec. 43.148. NUECES COUNTY [105TH JUDICIAL] DISTRICT
- 9 ATTORNEY. (a) The voters of Nueces County [the 105th Judicial
- 10 District] elect a district attorney. The district attorney has the
- 11 same powers and duties as other district attorneys and serves all
- 12 the district, county, and justice courts of Nueces County [and the
- 13 district courts of Kleberg and Kenedy counties].
- 14 (b) The district attorney shall attend each term and session
- of the district, county, and justice courts of Nueces County [and
- 16 the district courts of Kleberg and Kenedy counties] and shall
- 17 represent the state in criminal cases pending in those courts. The
- 18 district attorney has control of any case heard on petition of writ
- 19 of habeas corpus before any district or inferior court in the
- 20 district.
- 21 (c) The commissioners <u>court</u> [courts] of <u>Nueces County</u> [the
- 22 counties comprising the district] may supplement the state salary
- 23 of the district attorney. The amount of the supplement may not
- 24 exceed \$12,000 a year. [The supplemental salary must be paid

- 1 proportionately by the commissioners court of each county according
- 2 to the population of the county.] The supplemental salary may be
- 3 paid from the officers' salary fund of $\frac{1}{2}$ county. If that fund
- 4 is inadequate, the commissioners court may transfer the necessary
- 5 funds from the general fund of the county.
- 6 SECTION 2. Subchapter B, Chapter 43, Government Code, is
- 7 amended by adding Section 43.182 to read as follows:
- 8 Sec. 43.182. DISTRICT ATTORNEY FOR KLEBERG AND KENEDY
- 9 COUNTIES. (a) The voters of Kleberg and Kenedy Counties elect a
- 10 district attorney. The district attorney has the same powers and
- 11 duties as other district attorneys and serves the district courts
- of Kleberg and Kenedy Counties.
- 13 (b) The district attorney shall attend each term and session
- of the district courts of Kleberg and Kenedy Counties and shall
- 15 represent the state in criminal cases pending in those courts. The
- district attorney has control of any case heard on petition of writ
- 17 of habeas corpus before any district or inferior court in the
- 18 district.
- 19 (c) The commissioners courts of the counties comprising the
- 20 district may supplement the state salary of the district attorney.
- 21 The amount of the supplement may not exceed \$12,000 a year. The
- 22 supplemental salary must be paid proportionately by the
- 23 commissioners court of each county according to the population of
- 24 the county. The supplemental salary may be paid from the officers'
- 25 <u>salary fund of a county.</u> If that fund is inadequate, the
- 26 commissioners court may transfer the necessary funds from the
- 27 general fund of the county.

- S.B. No. 1814
- 1 SECTION 3. Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to
- 2 read as follows:
- 3 Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter
- 4 applies to all county prosecutors and to the following state
- 5 prosecutors:
- 6 (1) the district attorneys for Kenedy, Kleberg, and
- 7 Nueces Counties and for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 12th, 18th, 21st,
- 8 23rd, 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 35th, 36th,
- 9 38th, 42nd, 43rd, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 64th,
- 10 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th, 97th,
- 11 100th, [105th,] 106th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th, 123rd, 142nd,
- 12 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th, 216th, 220th, 229th,
- 13 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th, 271st, 278th, 286th,
- 329th, 349th, and 355th judicial districts;
- 15 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties
- of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell,
- 17 Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland,
- 18 Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper,
- 19 Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton,
- 20 Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant,
- 21 Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller,
- 22 Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and
- 23 (3) the county attorneys performing the duties of
- 24 district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron,
- 25 Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Fannin, Freestone, Lamar,
- Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree,
- 27 Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Terry, Webb, and

S.B. No. 1814

- 1 Willacy.
- 2 SECTION 4. Effective January 1, 2009, Section 46.002,
- 3 Government Code, is amended to read as follows:
- 4 Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter
- 5 applies to all county prosecutors and to the following state
- 6 prosecutors:
- 7 (1) the district attorneys for Kenedy, Kleberg, and
- 8 Nueces Counties and for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 12th, 18th, 21st,
- 9 23rd, 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 35th, 36th,
- 10 38th, 42nd, 43rd, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 64th,
- 11 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th, 97th,
- 12 100th, [105th,] 106th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th, 123rd, 142nd,
- 13 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th, 216th, 220th, 229th,
- 14 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th, 271st, 278th, 286th,
- 15 329th, 344th, 349th, and 355th judicial districts;
- 16 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties
- of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell,
- 18 Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland,
- 19 Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper,
- 20 Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton,
- 21 Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant,
- 22 Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller,
- 23 Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and
- 24 (3) the county attorneys performing the duties of
- 25 district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron,
- 26 Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Fannin, Freestone, Lamar,
- 27 Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree,

S.B. No. 1814

- 1 Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Terry, Webb, and
- 2 Willacy.
- 3 SECTION 5. This Act takes effect September 1, 2007.