1-1 By: Lucio S.B. No. 1814 1-2 1-3 (In the Senate - Filed March 9, 2007; March 22, 2007, read first time and referred to Committee on Jurisprudence; April 16, 2007, reported adversely, with favorable Committee 1-4 1-5 Substitute by the following vote: Yeas 6, Nays 0; April 16, 2007, 1-6 sent to printer.)

COMMITTEE SUBSTITUTE FOR S.B. No. 1814 1-7

1-8

1-9

1-10 1-11 1-12

1-13 1-14 1-15

1-16

1-17 1-18 1-19 1-20 1-21 1-22

1-23

1-24 1-25

1-26 1-27

1-28

1-29

1-30

1-31

1-32

1-33 1-34 1-35

1-36

1-37

1-38 1-39 1-40

1-41

1-42

1-43 1-44 1-45 1-46

1-47

1-48 1-49 1-50 1-51 1-52

1-53

1-54 1-55

1-56

1-57 1-58

1-59 1-60 1-61 1-62

1-63

By: Watson

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT

relating to the creation of the office of district attorney for Kenedy and Kleberg Counties and the district attorney for the 105th Judicial District.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

SECTION 1. Section 43.148, Government Code, is amended to read as follows:

Sec. 43.148. 105TH JUDICIAL DISTRICT. (a) The voters of Nueces County [the 105th Judicial District] elect a district attorney for the 105th Judicial District who [. The district attorney] has the same powers and duties as other district attorneys and serves all the district, county, and justice courts of Nueces County [and the district courts of Kleberg and Kenedy counties].

- (b) The district attorney shall attend each term and session of the district, county, and justice courts of Nueces County [and the district courts of Kleberg and Kenedy counties] and shall represent the state in criminal cases pending in those courts. The district attorney has control of any case heard on petition of writ of habeas corpus before any district or inferior court in the district.
- The commissioners <u>court</u> [courts] of <u>Nueces County</u> [the (c) counties comprising the district] may supplement the state salary of the district attorney. The amount of the supplement may not exceed \$12,000 a year. [The supplemental salary must be paid proportionately by the commissioners court of each county according to the population of the county.] The supplemental salary may be paid from the officers' salary fund of the [a] county. If that fund is inadequate, the commissioners court may transfer the necessary

funds from the general fund of the county.

SECTION 2. Subchapter B, Chapter 43, Government Code, is amended by adding Section 43.182 to read as follows:

- Sec. 43.182. DISTRICT ATTORNEY FOR KLEBERG AND KENEDY COUNTIES. (a) The voters of Kleberg and Kenedy Counties elect a district attorney. The district attorney has the same powers and duties as other district attorneys and serves the district courts of Kleberg and Kenedy Counties.
- (b) The district attorney shall attend each term and session of the district courts of Kleberg and Kenedy Counties and shall represent the state in criminal cases pending in those courts. The district attorney has control of any case heard on petition of writ of habeas corpus before any district or inferior court in the
- The commissioners courts of the counties comprising the district may supplement the state salary of the district attorney. The amount of the supplement may not exceed \$12,000 a year. supplemental salary must be paid proportionately by commissioners court of each county according to the population of the county. The supplemental salary may be paid from the officers' salary fund of a county. If that fund is inadequate, the commissioners court may transfer the necessary funds from the general fund of the county.

 SECTION 3. Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to

read as follows:

Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter

C.S.S.B. No. 1814

applies to all county prosecutors and to the following state prosecutors:

2**-**1 2**-**2

2-3 2-4 2-5 2-6 2-7 2-8 2-9 2-10 2-11 2-12

2-13

2-14 2-15 2-16 2-17 2-18 2-19

2-20 2-21

2-22 2-23 2-24

2**-**25 2**-**26

2-27

2-28

2-29

2-30 2-31

2-32 2-33 2-34 2-35 2-36 2-37 2-38 2-39

2-40 2-41 2-42

2-43 2-44 2-45 2-46 2-47

2-48

2-49 2-50 2-51 2-52 2-53

2-54

- (1) the district attorneys for Kenedy and Kleberg Counties and for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 42nd, 43rd, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th, 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th, 123rd, 142nd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th, 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th, 271st, 278th, 286th, 329th, 349th, and 355th judicial districts;

 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties
- (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland, Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and
- (3) the county attorneys performing the duties of district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron, Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Fannin, Freestone, Lamar, Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree, Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Terry, Webb, and Willacy.

SECTION 4. Effective January 1, 2009, Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to read as follows:

Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter applies to all county prosecutors and to the following state prosecutors:

- (1) the district attorneys for Kenedy and Kleberg Counties and for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 42nd, 43rd, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th, 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th, 123rd, 142nd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th, 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th, 271st, 278th, 286th, 329th, 344th, 349th, and 355th judicial districts;

 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties
- (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland, Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and
- (3) the county attorneys performing the duties of district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron, Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Fannin, Freestone, Lamar, Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree, Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Terry, Webb, and Willacy.

SECTION 5. This Act takes effect September 1, 2007.

2-55 * * * * *