By: Brimer S.C.R. No. 9

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Texas Legislature created the Sunset Advisory 1 2

Commission, which will celebrate its 30th anniversary this year;

3 and

6

9

10

13

14

16

WHEREAS, Through the sunset process, the legislature has 4

streamlined and changed state government, abolished 52 agencies, 5

consolidated 12 others, saved \$784 million, and improved government

7 operations through 375 reviews; and

WHEREAS, The commission has enjoyed committed service from 8

its members over the years, and it is currently under the leadership

its chair, Senator Kim Brimer, and its vice

11 Representative Vicki Truitt; and

12 WHEREAS, The commission has been supported by a talented and

dedicated staff under the leadership of director Joey Longley,

deputy director Ken Levine, and review directors Joe Walraven and

Ginny McKay; its staff members include Steve Hopson, Jennifer 15

Jones, Karen Latta, Janelle Collier, Christian Ninaud, Chloe

Lieberknecht, Leah Campbell, Annette Coussan, Kelly Kennedy, Sarah 17

18 Kirkle, Ken Martin, David Olvera, Faye Rencher, Katharine Teleki,

Amy Trost, Susan Turner, Cindy Womack, Cee Hartley, Barbara Hunley, 19

Dawn Roberson, Janet Wood, and Julie Fullingim; now, therefore, be 20

21 it

22 RESOLVED, That the 80th Legislature of the State of Texas

23 hereby recognize and honor the Sunset Advisory Commission for its

30 years of service to the State of Texas; and, be it further 24

S.C.R. No. 9

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for the Sunset Advisory Commission, its members, and each
- 3 member of its staff as an expression of sincere gratitude from the
- 4 Texas Senate and House of Representatives.