By: Wentworth S.C.R. No. 50

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1

24

WHEREAS, The 80th Legislature of the State of Texas is 2 pleased to recognize April 3, 2007, as Texas Medal of Arts Awards 3 4 Day at the Capitol; and WHEREAS, The Texas Medal of Arts Awards are presented by the 5 6 Texas Cultural Trust Council and pay tribute to Texans who have made 7 important contributions to a variety of artistic disciplines in the 8 state; and WHEREAS, The arts enrich, educate, and broaden the lives of 9 10 citizens in our state, and these awards recognize and encourage the 11 development of the arts through personal achievement or unfailing 12 support; and WHEREAS, The following individuals and institutions will be 13 presented medals for 2007: Walter Cronkite, Lifetime Achievement; 14 15 Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, Dance; Dr. Paul Baker, Arts 16 Education; Sandra Brown, Literary Arts; Ornette Coleman, Music; Diana and Bill Hobby, Individual Arts Patrons; Judith Ivey, Theatre 17 Arts; Jesus Morales, Visual Arts; Neiman Marcus, Corporate Arts 18 Patron; Sid W. Richardson Foundation, Foundation Arts Patron; and 19 20 Bill Wittliff, Multimedia; and WHEREAS, The arts enhance the quality of life in Texas and add 21 22 to the rich cultural heritage of the state, and the artists and arts patrons honored by the Texas Medal of Arts Awards help ensure the 23

future of the arts and arts education in our state; now, therefore,

S.C.R. No. 50

- 1 be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the 80th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 3 hereby commend the recipients of the 2007 Texas Medal of Arts Awards
- 4 for their dedication to the advancement of the arts in Texas; and,
- 5 be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be prepared for each
- 7 of them as an expression of esteem by the Texas House of
- 8 Representatives and Senate.