## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 13

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Westlake High School Chaparrals football team, which recently finished another stellar season with a trip to the Class 5A Division 1 state championship game; and

WHEREAS, The Chaparrals, one of the premier football programs in the state, were defeated by Southlake Carroll High School in a hard-fought battle that saw both sides embody the best of skill and sportsmanship; and

WHEREAS, The Chaparrals have demonstrated great talent and perseverance throughout the school year, ending the season with a 12-3 record; all members of the team can take great pride in their outstanding performance during the 2006 season; and

WHEREAS, Seniors on the team include Chris Agness, Jay Austin, Brad Baldwin, Brad Ballew, Thomas Brown, Joe Crawford, Dusty Davidson, Tory Dawson, Nick Deangelis, Joey Feste, Nick Foles, Eric Germann, Jaron Guevara, James Guleke, Bron Hager, Logan Harkness, Jeff Hunter, Thomas Johnson, Victor Kronberg, Bailey McShane, Max Minor, Matt Nader, Riley Orloff, Blake Reed, Kevin Reed, Caton Sanders, William Sayers, Stephen Shaffer, Andy Spears, Andy Theodosis, and Justin Wang; and

WHEREAS, Underclassmen on the team include juniors
Ryan Ambrose, Blair Brannan, Paul Casmedes, Ross Cooper,
Kendrick Cutsinger, Marck Daniel, Brad Dornak, David Dyer,
Mark Enfinger, Jordan Etier, Mike Joyce, Patrick Jupe,
Forrest Justice, Spencer Kainz, Michael Kimble, Walker Kobelan,
Ryan Laser, Jay Messer, Alex Miller, Cameron Nichols, Clayton Orr,
Aaron Perez, Justin Tucker, Marco Uribe, Alex Weghorst, and
Clayton Wimberly; and sophmores Jeff Ballew, Omar Ontiveros,
Ryan Swope, and Mike Walker; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of head coach Derek Long and assistant coaches Sul Ross, Lane Grigg, Mark Hurst, Bob Abbott, Steve Ramsey, Jeff Montgomery, Zach Brockman, and Jared Wingfield, the Chaparrals have developed exceptional teamwork and discipline; and

WHEREAS, Westlake and the Austin area are proud of the Chaparrals for their hard work, impressive skills, fine sportsmanship, and great achievements; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby commend the team and coaches of the Westlake High School football team for their highly successful 2006 season; and, be it further

S.R. No. 13

 ${\tt RESOLVED}$  , That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 17, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate