## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 26

## In Memory of Betty Biechlin

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas honors and commemorates the life of Betty Biechlin, who died December 28, 2006, at the age of 78; and

WHEREAS, Betty Ann Whitehead was born in El Paso on December 23, 1928, to Otis and Lana Whitehead; she attended Jefferson High School and Southern Methodist University; and

WHEREAS, She married Robert R. "Bob" Biechlin and dedicated her time to caring for her three sons and her home; she then ventured into the world of business in real estate and had the distinction of being the number one residential salesperson in San Antonio on several occasions; and

WHEREAS, She was a founding member of Saint David's Episcopal Church and served as president of the Diocesan Women of the Church; she was a member of the Assistance League of San Antonio, the San Antonio Board of Realtors, and the San Antonio Country Club; and

WHEREAS, Betty Biechlin genuinely cared for the happiness and welfare of others; she will long be remembered by all who knew her for her zest for life, her spirited sense of humor, her whimsical poetry, and her Christmas treasure hunts; and

WHEREAS, She was a devoted wife, mother, and grandmother, and she leaves behind memories that will be treasured forever by her family and many friends; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

80th Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the

bereaved family of Betty Biechlin: her husband, Bob; her sons and
daughters-in-law, Robert R. Biechlin, Jr., and Janet Biechlin,

Michael Biechlin and Cary Biechlin, and Paul Brink Biechlin and
Julie Biechlin; and her grandchildren, Amy, Adam, Miles, Emilie,
and Hunter; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Betty Biechlin.

Wentworth

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 22, 2007, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate