SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 47

In Memory of Ella Mae Henderson Smith

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of Houston in mourning the loss of Ella Mae Henderson Smith, who died December 17, 2006, at the age of 90; and

WHEREAS, Ella Mae Henderson was born December 20, 1915, in Vermillion Parish in Abbeville, Louisiana, to Paul and Arizona Henderson; the family moved to Texas when Ella Mae was a child; and

WHEREAS, She was a graduate of Texas State University and was an exemplary educator for the Houston Independent School District for 38 years; she was dedicated to her work and to instilling in her students a lifelong love of learning; Ella Mae married Willie Smith and was the mother of three children; and WHEREAS, She was a charter member of the Gamma Phi Sigma

WHEREAS, She was a charter member of the Gamma Phi Sigma Chapter of Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Incorporated, and was active in numerous civic and educational organizations; she was a member of the Mount Olive Worship Center; and

WHEREAS, A woman of courage, strength, and compassion, she gave generously to others, and her wisdom, warmth, and valued counsel will not be forgotten by those who knew her; and

WHEREAS, Ella Mae Smith was a devoted wife, mother, and grandmother and was beloved by her family and friends, and she will long be remembered for her generous spirit and her many accomplishments; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Ella Mae Henderson Smith; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the members of her family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Ella Mae Henderson Smith.

Ellis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 23, 2007, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate