## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 125

WHEREAS, Governor Rick Perry has proclaimed January of 2007 School Board Recognition Month in Texas, and the Senate of the State of Texas takes pleasure in commending the dedicated members of the Terrell County Independent School District School Board for their exemplary public service; and WHEREAS, School boards provide critical leadership in one

WHEREAS, School boards provide critical leadership in one of the most fundamentally important endeavors a community undertakes; their myriad responsibilities include setting goals for the district's school system and evaluating the district's success, adopting policies that guide district actions, hiring a superintendent to serve as administrator of the district and evaluating the superintendent's success, approving an annual budget, and communicating the district's vision and success to the community; and

WHEREAS, By working closely with parents, education professionals, and other citizens in the community, school boards seek to provide a supportive environment and a quality education for all the students in their district; and

WHEREAS, The Terrell County Independent School District School Board is committed to empowering its students to build productive, successful lives in an ever-changing and complex world, and its diligent efforts serve to significantly advance this vital mission; now, therefore, be it

this vital mission; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby commend the members of the Terrell County Independent School District School Board for their notable contributions to the education of the students in their district and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the members of the school board as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Uresti

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 29, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate